Lynx MS News

AIS West - April 2022

Hello AIS West Middle School Community,


Welcome to Term 4! We are officially in the home stretch of the school year. Big thanks to all of the parents who joined us for our monthly coffee talk this morning. Click here to view the slides with embedded links. Click here to view a recording of the meeting.


Huge congratulations to all students who were recognized in our monthly student recognition assembly this morning. Check out the photos below.


Please note that Term 3 report cards will be available to view through PowerSchool on April 15. Please check reports carefully to support your child in ending the year strong.


We will continue to follow the abbreviated schedule for the entire holy month of Ramadan. There will be a Ramadan Iftar on Thursday, April 14th for the AISW Community and Family. There will be live music, catered open buffet, and entertainment for the little ones provided by Club Liko. Tickets are 200 LE and will be sold beginning Sunday, April 10. Representatives will be stopping by classes to sell the tickets. Please make sure to give the students the funds to purchase tickets if interested. Additionally, tickets will be sold at the gate on the day of the event. All of the proceeds will go to celebrate our workers during this blessed month.


We are looking forward to seeing you and having a great time together!


Thanks again and don't hesitate to reach out to us if you need anything. Our doors are always open!


Ramadan Kareem!

Chelsea Armstrong

Principal

carmstrong@aiswest.com


Mathias Sanders

Assistant Principal

msanders@aiswest.com


Reham Sherif

Administrative Assistant

rsherif@aiswest.com

Big picture
Big picture
Big picture
Big picture
Big picture
Lynx S W A G April 3

Important Dates

April 14 - AIS West Family Iftar - 6:00pm


April 15 - Term 3 Report Cards Live on PowerSchool


April 24 - 25 - Easter and Sinai Liberation Day - No School

*Student and Teacher of the Month* Risk Taker

Big picture

Student of the Month - Hassan Elsadaawi

Hassan is our Student of the Month because she truly embodies to IB Learner Profile Trait: Risk Taker. Hassan is innovative and determined. In class he works well independently and with peers on assignments and activities. Outside of class, Hassan has taken risks in business. He has designed really amazing digital art projects and is making a profit from his work using NFTs.

Teacher of the Month --- Mrs. Patricia Granter

Mrs. G. is our Teacher of the Month! Patricia is a risk taker in her approach to learning and teaching. She was innovative and resourceful in her planning for the middle school and high school band performance.

What's Happening in Grade 6?

English 6 - Michaela Lucey - mlucey@aiswest.com - Sara Affify - saffify@aiswest.com

Geography 6 - John Lawrence - jlawrence@aiswest.com - Abdelkader Chabi - achabi@aiswest.com

In Geography, students will continue learning about Africa. We will explore the wildlife, people, economy, and history of Africa.

Math 6 - Vince Yung - vyung@aiswest.com - Michael Heard - mheard@aiswest.com

Students will continue solving more complex multi-step equations. We will use these strategies in real world situations.

Science 6 - Amanda Bailey - abailey@aiswest.com - Amanda Kerschen- akerschen@aiswest.com

In science this month, we will being a unit on life science. We will be learning about the basic unit of life, the cell, and complete a cell lab report.

Arabic 6 - Ahmed Khattab - akhattab@aiswest.com - Mohamed Hassan - mhassan@aiswest.com

اللغة العربية: درس "أيام الطفولة " نصوص. / درس "الحال ، النعت " نحو. / الفصل السابع - قصة علي مبارك.

Arabic Social Studies 6 - Mohamed Ahmed and Mahmoud Sharkawy ( mahmed@aiswest.com, msharkawy@aiswest.com)

التاريخ:تابع سعد زغلول وثورة ١٩١٩ ـ ثورة ٢٣ يوليو ١٩٥٢ ـ حرب أكتوبر. الجغرافيا: الخصائص الطبيعية للبيئة الساحلية

AFL 6 - Mohamed Hassan - mhassan@aiswest.com

القراءة (غرائب المخلوقات ) النحو ( أنواع الجمع ) تحدث واستماع ( قصة أميرة الجليد). الإملاء (علامات الترقيم)

French 6 - Edwina Nordquist - enordquist@aiswest.com

Students will learn to ask about and describe people (family members/friends). In grammar, they will learn about possessive adjectives.

Spanish 6 - Dolores Rodriguez - drodriguez@aiswest.com

Students will learn to say where they are from, and recognize and locate all Spanish speaking countries.

Drama 6 - Ilonka Meier - imeier@aiswest.com

Students will rehearse "The Rainbow Fish" for performance on stage.

Robotics 6 - Alejandro Corredor - acorredor@aiswest.com

Students will be working on building their robotic solutions to daily-life problems and advertising them in a infomercial.

Physical Education 6 - Anders Nordquist, Marty Perry, Katrina Wards anordquist@aiswest.com, mperry@aiswest.com kwards@aiswest.com

Students in PE will be investigating the skill related fitness components. Students will choose two skills to target and improve while using their knowledge of skill related fitness to help.

Art 6 - Mai Hedieb - mhedieb@aiswest.com

The students will learn about how to make silhouette story scene from there favorite book using collage and paint.

Dance 6 - Lina Rodriguez - lrodriguez@aiswest.com

Student will learn dance technical and expressive skills for performing on stage.

Band 6 - Patricia Granter - pgranter@aiswest.com

What's Happening in Grade 7?

English 7 - Sara Affify and Amira Nabhan - saffify@aiswest.com, anabhan@aiswest.com

Students will be learning how to write informational essays.

Math 7 - Michael Heard - mheard@aiswest.com

Science 7 - Amanda Kerschen & Holly Holst akerschen@aiswest.com, hholst@aiswest.com

History 7 - Abdelkader Chabi and Daniel McCarville - achabi@aiswest.com, dmccarville@aiswest.com

Students will begin exploring Ancient Greece, the Greco-Persian Wars, as well as Greek mythology.

Spanish 7 - Dolores Rodriguez - drodriguez@aiswest.com

Students will learn new verbs to talk about what they do in school, and how to conjugate those verbs.

Arabic 7 - Sahar Mahmoud and Ahmed Khattab - smahmoud@aiswest.com, akhattab@aiswest.com

قراءة درس نور والجغرافيا ومراجعة ماتم دراسته في اللغة العربية والتربية الدينية.

Arabic Social Studies 6 - Mohamed Ahmed , Mahmoud Sharkawy - mahmed@aiswest.com,msharkawy@aiswest.com

Drama 7 - Ilonka Meier - imeier@aiswest.com

Students will work on blocking, lines and cue lines and rehearse for performance on stage.

French 7 -Edwina Nordquist- enordquist@aiswest.com

Students will learn how to ask how often people do an activity, ask how well they do something and to ask about preferences in French. In grammar, students will learn some of the most common conjunctions.

AFL 7 - Mohamed Hassan - mhassan@aiswest.com

القراءة (سميرة موسي) النحو (المفعول به ) تحدث واستماع ( قصة اللفت العملاق ) الإملاء( الألف اللينة )

Arabic Social Studies 7 - Mohamed Ahmed, Mahmoud Sharkawy- mahmed@aiswest.com, msharkawy@aiswest.com

التاريخ : الإسكندر في مصر ـ مصر تحت حكم البطالمة والرومان ـ الجغرافيا : الكوارث والأخطار الطبيعية

Art 7 - Mai Hedieb - mhedieb@aiswest.com

the students will learn about how to make poster for Egyptian puppet show its called (El lila el kibira ).

Dance 7 - Lina Rodriguez - lrodriguez@aiswest.com

Student will learn a new choreography mixing Latin American Rhythms.

Physical Education 7 - Anders Nordquist - anordquist@aiswest.com

Students in PE will be investigating and comparing the skill related fitness components to the health related fitness components. Students will choose two skills to target and improve while using their knowledge of skill related fitness to help.

Video Games 7 - Alejandro Corredor - acorredor@aiswest.com

Students will be working on developing a full length 9-level video game in which they will use what they have learned about the MDA framework and level design principles.

Band 7/8 - Patricia Granter - pgranter@aiswest.com

What's Happening in Grade 8?

English 8 - Amira Nabhan and Stacy Pape - spape@aiswest.com

This month, students will review poetry, before starting the last novel of the year: Shakespeare's Twelfth Night.

Math 8 - Amira Elsherif & Sophie Sewailem -aelsherif@aiswest.com, ssewailem@aiswest.com

History 8 - Daniel MacCarville - dmaccarville@aiswest.com - Stacy Pape - spape@aiswest.com

During April, the students will finish studying the unit on the Protestant Reformation and Counter Reformation, plus get into the amazing story of the English House of Tudor and the life of the famous monarch Henry the 8th.

Science 8 - Holly Holst & Kim Walker ( hholst@aiswest.com, kwalker@aiswest.com)

During the month of April, 8th grade students will participate in two different science units! In one, students will explore the galaxy and all the amazing phenomon of Space. The other unit is a Rube Goldberg building project, where students will work in teams to use all their knowledge on Energy to create a machine to perform a simple task.

Spanish 8 - Dolores Rodriguez - drodriguez@aiswest.com

Students will learn how to order food in a restaurant, how to tip and call a waiter, and plan activities around the city.

French 8 - Edwina Nordquist and Iman Elarfaaoui- enordquist@aiswest.com, ielarfaaoui@aiswest.com

Students will learn to identify family members and to ask about someone's family. In grammar, French 8 will review the possessive adjectives and contractions with de.

Coding 8 - Alejandro Corredor - acorredor@aiswest.com

Students will be working on a personal project in which they have to develop a program using the Processing structure, if statements, user interaction and shapes.

AFL 8 - Mohamed Hassan - mhassan@aiswest.com

القراءة (طريق النور واختراعات عربية ) النحو (النكرة والمعرفة) تحدث واستماع ( قصة ماء الحياة) الإملاء ( الهمزة المتوسطة )

Arabic Social Studies 8 - Mahmoud Sharkawy and Mohamed Ahmed ( msharkawy@aiswest.com, mahmed@aiswest.com)

الجغرافيا: الصناعة بالوطن العربي ـ السياحة بالوطن العربي ـ التكامل الاقتصادي بين الدول العربية. التاريخ : الدولة الأيوبية ـ الدولة المملوكية

Arabic 8 -Ali Mansour - amansour@aiswest.com

Art 8 - Mai Hedieb - mhedieb@aiswest.com

the students will learn about monochromatic paint and value and color schame and how they used the acrylic paint

Dance 8 - Lina Rodriguez - lrodriguez@aiswest.com

Student will explore World Cultural Dances II

Drama 8 - Ilonka Meier - imeier@aiswest.com

Students will work on blockin, lines, cue lines and rehars for performance on stage.

Physical Education 8 - Marty Perry, Katrina Wards, and Anders Nordquist mperry@aiswest.com, kwards@aiswest.com, and anordquist@aiswest.com

Students in PE will be investigating, comparing and contrasting the skill related fitness components to the health related fitness components. Students will choose two skills to target and improve while using their knowledge of skill related fitness to help.

AIS West Middle School

Follow us on Instagram @aise_west_middleschool