Hunger Games, by Suzanne Collins

Sam Roach

Big image
Suzanne Collins' The Hunger Games is a story detailing the struggle of Katniss Everdeen, a sixteen year old girl from the impoverished District 12 of the country of Panem, which has arisen in the wake of a future dystopian North America. Every year, children of ages 12 to 18 are picked at random to compete in the eponymous Hunger Games, a fight to the death between pairs of two children from every district.

When Katniss' little sister is selected as a tribute to the Hunger Games, Katniss volunteers herself to compete in her place. She, along with Peeta Mellark, a boy who saved Katniss' life in the past, are transported off to the Capitol district in order to train in combat among other things in preparation to enter the showdown between the 24 tributes.

It is a suspenseful tale that delves into such things as morality in the face of desperation, and the consequences that are result of your actions.

Book 1 of 3. A great read.

About the Author

Suzanne Collins' writing career began in 1991 when she wrote for children's television programs. After meeting with author James Proimos, Collins became inspired to be an author herself. She found success in her series The Underland Chronicles before going on to make The Hunger Games and publish it in 2008. The Hunger Games and its two sequels found great success. Collins was voted one of Time's most influential people in 2010. She was also the best-selling author on Kindles.
Big image