The Boys Soccer Banquet was held on Wednesday, April 20th at the Piazza in the Village. The teams were recognized and several awards were given to players for their 2015-2016 season accomplishments as well as academic accomplishments.

CHHS Varsity team awards:

Holden Lyons - Varsity Co-Defensive Players of the Year

James Tanaka – Varsity Co-Defensive Players of the Year

Jonathan Martin - Varsity Offensive Player of the Year

Jonathan Martin - Varsity MVP

All District 7-6A Awards recognized the following players:

First Team

Jonathan Martin

Holden Lyons

James Tanaka

Second Team

Chance Lander

Layton Lyons

Zafir Patel

Honorable Mention

Austin Benvegnu

Juan Esparza

Rukari Pate

Derek Smith

All District 7-6A Academic Awards recognized the following players:

(90 or above cumulative average all courses all years)

Gage Barber

Chance Lander

Zafir Patel

Austin Benvegnu

Holden Lyons

James Tanaka

Nick Hernandez

Layton Lyons

Jack Walker

Academic All State Seniors Only:

Gage Barber

Chance Lander

Zafir Patel

Austin Benvegnu

Holden Lyons

James Tanaka

Nick Hernandez

Layton Lyons

JV1 and JV2 Team Awards:

Jason Dugan - JV1 Defensive Player of the Year

Enzo Colman - JV1 Offensive Player of the Year

Mathew York - JV1 MVP

Milan Mirtaheri - JV2 Defensive Player of the Year

Breck Thurston - JV2 Offensive Player of the Year

Sam Owen - JV2 MVP

Big image

Speech and Debate

Congratulations to juniors Marina Leventis and Miranda Nutt for their performance at the Tournament of Champions, held on the campus of the University of Kentucky in Lexington. Leventis and Nutt competed against 97 other Public Forum teams in this prestigious event. They had a 5-2 preliminary round record and were the 16th seed. They lost in the "run-off" round in a very close 2-1 decision. They were the only all junior and female team to break at the tournament. They look forward to competing in June at the National Speech and Debate national tournament in Salt Lake City.

Allison Pappas

Allison is a sophomore at CHHS and she and her competitive cheer team, "A-Team" from the Spirit of Texas gym in Coppell, just won first place in the World Cheerleading competition for her division last weekend at the ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex in Orlando Florida. This achievement culminates almost ten years of hard work and dedication for Allison in competitive cheer and she is obviously very thrilled about it. Allison is a current CHHS JV Cheerleader and will be on the Varsity squad this Fall.

CHHS Softball

Congratulations to our Varsity girls for finishing 17-4 on the year and finishing 3rd in the district. It has been a great year, and seniors, you will be missed!

Scholarship Recipients

Congratulations to CHHS students who were awarded six $500 scholarships at a recent Athletic Booster Club Meeting.

Congratulations to:

Katherine Anthony - Volleyball (Allison Horn Memorial Scholarship Recipient)

Lena Spencer- Girl's Soccer

Austin Benvengnu - Boy's Soccer

Sarah Ryan - Girl's Basketball

Erin Spencer - Girl's Soccer (not pictured)

Mark Miller - Golf (not pictured)

There were many deserving and qualified applicants. Congratulations to ALL senior members of the Athletic Booster Club for your dedication and hard work as Student-Athletes.

AP Booster Club Teacher of the Year

Dr. Wes Watters has been named the AP Booster Club’s 2016 Teacher of the Year.

Dr. Watters has been teaching AP Government and AP Economics for the past 26 years. He has been teaching in GCISD for 27 years, and he is a founding member of the 20-year CHHS staff. Dr. Watters is also an American History professor at TCU.

Dr. Watters has been the Pep Boys Sponsor for the past 18 years, and when he is not teaching at CHHS or TCU, he can always be spotted in the stands supporting all CHHS extra-curricular activities.

Congratulations, Dr. Watters!

Panther Applause

Want to give an accolade to a particular student or CHHS organization? Email your submissions by noon on Sundays to