Department Of Labor

By: Abby Wilhelm & Braxton Peele

When was this department founded?

The department of labor was founded on March 4th, 1913. It was signed by President William H. Taft upon the Inauguration of Woodrow Wilson.

What does the department of Labor do?

The department of labor;

is a cabinet-level department of the U.S federal government responsible for occupational safety, wage and hour standards, unemployment insurance benefits, reemployment services, and some economic statistics; many U.S states also have such departments. The department is headed by the U.S secretary of Labor. The purpose of the Department is to foster, promote, and develop the welfare of the wage earners, job seekers, and retirees of the United States. They improve working conditions; advance opportunities for profitable employment; and assure work-related benefits and rights.

Who works for the Department Of Labor?

Some of the people who play a major role in this department are, Keith Kelly ( Assistant Secretary) Teresa Gerton ( Deputy Assistant secretary policy ) Ralph Charlip ( Deputy assistant secretary operations and management ) William Mentheny ( Director of office field operations ) Michael Bacchini ( Chief of staff ) Ann Dubois ( Executive assistant ) Brain Howthorne ( Special assistant ) Stephen Shapire ( Special assistant ) Gordon J. Burke Jr ( Senior Advisor ) Linda Powe ( Staff assistant ) Antonio Johnson ( staff assistant ) and Carrie Timus ( correspondence specialist )