Caste System

by Nicole Jares and Amanda Blatz


The Brahmans were the highest level of the Caste System. They consisted of the priests and scholars. They lived strict religious lives. They did not do everyday tasks; instead, they had the lower classes do them. Their main duties were to study the Vedas and perform religious ceremonies. They taught the Vedas to lower classes.


This group consisted of warriors, generals, and kings. Their role was mainly to defend the people from invaders and study the ancient Hindu scripts. They were expected to be brave and intelligent. Kshatryias never refused a challenge and were true to their word. They made sure that citizens performed their specific duties.


Vaishyas were farmers and merchants. They carried out trade activities by bringing farm products to markets and lent money to keep numerous businesses going. They protected animals (especially the cows) and the land. They worked to maintain abundant food and clothes. They gave taxes to the group above them, the Kshatryias.


The Sudras are the only ones of the caste system who are allowed to accept another's employment. Commoners, peasants, and servants all belonged to this group. They took great pride in their work. They are expected to follow general moral principles. They are servants to the castes above them. They had the capability to become wealthy farmers or artisans. They also had the right to marry.


People in this caste were considered impure or less than human. They performed duties such as cleaning latrines and sweeping the streets. Physical contact between the Brahmans and Untouchables was absolutely forbidden. They were not allowed in Hindu temples, so they formed religious sections of their own.
Big image
Big image
Big image