Office of Special Education

June 18, 2020

ENGLISH:

Need translation? Click HERE, then click "Translate" in the black bar.


SPANISH:

¿Necesita traducción? Haga clic AQUÍ, después vaya a la parte inferior de la página y haga clic en la palabra "Translate" que aparece sobre fondo negro.


PORTUGUESE

Precisa de tradução? Clique AQUI, em seguida vá até o final da página e clique em "Translate " na barra preta.

Special Education Extended School year

Dear Families,

I am writing to share updated information regarding Special Education Extended School Year (ESY) programming this summer. In May, with the current guidance we had, we began planning for remote summer programming.

On June 7th we received Summer 2020 Guidance from the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education. Our team is reviewing this guidance carefully in order to put forth our best effort in determining if we can meet the requirements and provide, on a limited basis, some in person instruction to our high needs students later this summer. Like all things related to this pandemic and unprecedented time, the guidance and requirements are complicated.

In order to provide in person services and instruction to students some of the necessary requirements include the following:



  • Identify high-priority students most at need for in-person summer services and communicate with families.

  • Identify, hire, and onboard appropriate staff.

  • Identify and purchase necessary protective equipment.

  • Develop situation-specific protocols as indicated in this document and in the additional resources provided. Modify any existing health and safety plans and/or school protocols as needed due to COVID-19.

  • Develop a training plan that includes identification of the staff needing to be trained, procurement of resources and trainers, and a system to confirm all necessary training is completed prior to in-person instruction.


We will begin summer services remotely and work hard to determine if we can offer students some alternative in person options later this summer. We wish more than anything to welcome students back to their learning environments in the school setting. Our biggest concern is maintaining the health and safety of our students and staff.

I appreciate your support and understanding during this very challenging time.


-Laura Spear

Special Education Director

What Can I Expect During Special Education Summer Programming?

Adventures, Best, Connections, Flyers, and Soar Tutoring K-8 programs will provide 45 minutes of direct services daily through Google Hangouts and 45 minutes of non-virtual learning opportunities through a weekly remote learning calendar. Learning opportunities will take place between the hours of approximately 9-12 PM for these programs.


Blocks Pre-School will provide 15 minutes of direct service Monday-Thursday through Google Hangouts and 30 minutes of non-virtual learning opportunities through a weekly remote learning calendar. Learning opportunities will take place between the hours of approximately 9-10:30 AM.


Related services, such as Speech and Language, Occupational Therapy, and Physical Therapy, will take place within the program hours.


Please check your email regularly, as staff will be communicating individual teacher and student schedules for virtual learning in the next few weeks. Your child will need to be able to access the online learning calendar daily, which will be important for supplemental lessons to support the direct lessons.

What If My Child Needs Access to Technology?

The Special Education Department is working collaboratively with the Office of Technology to ensure that families needing a Chromebook are provided access. Please be advised that if you receive a district-issued Chromebook via mail, then you are receiving it in order for your child to access remote learning opportunities during Summer Special Education services.

Who Do I Reach Out to If I Have Questions?

Krista Brother (ESY Director): kbrother@framingham.k12.ma.us


Marjie Brockman (Virtual ESY Coordinator): mbrockman@framingham.k12.ma.us


Leslie Zetlin & Debra Price (Soar K-5): lzetlin@framingham.k12.ma.us + dprice@framingham.k12.ma.us


Amy Swallow (Soar 6-8): aswallow@framingham.k12.ma.us


Kaleb Smith (Best): ksmith@framingham.k12.ma.us


Andrea Connolly & Fran Gauthier (Connections): aconnolly@framingam.k12.ma.us + fgauthier@framingham.k12.ma.us


Carol Vinci (Blocks): cvinci@framingham.k12.ma.us


Chris Ocampo (Flyers): cocampo@framingham.k12.ma.us


Keri Ann Crandall (Adventures): kcrandall@framingham.k12.ma.us


Veralyn Werner (Speech and Language): vwerner@framingham.k12.ma.us


Karen Clarke (Occupational Therapy): kclarke@framingham.k12.ma.us


Stephanie Collier (Physical Therapy): scollier@framingham.k12.ma.us