Friday Flash

A Delaware Digital Newsletter to Keep You In The Loop!

Here's What's Going On at School: Jan 04-Jan 08, 2016

“No matter how slow you go, you are still lapping everyone still sitting on a couch.”

~Bob Greene, Weight Loss Coach~


Monday, January 04

  • PLEDGE: Mrs. Phillips’ Class (please send 3-4 helpers to office by 8:50 am)

  • Quiet day for the first school-day of 2016!! It’s kind of nice to start with a quiet day.


Tuesday, January 05

  • PLEDGE: Mrs. Phillips’ Class (please send 3-4 helpers to office by 8:50 am)

  • Sub for Nurse Kathy today (all day)

  • Teachers meet in the library after school today for device deployment--4:00 pm sharp!


Wednesday, January 06

  • PLEDGE: Mrs. Phillips’ Class (please send 3-4 helpers to office by 8:50 am)

  • ELP Tutoring - Mrs. Martha’s Classroom - 3:45 pm to 5:15 pm


Thursday, January 07

  • PLEDGE: Mrs. Phillips’ Class (please send 3-4 helpers to office by 8:50 am)

  • ELP Tutoring - Mrs. Martha’s Classroom - 3:45 pm to 5:15 pm

  • TST Meeting - Miss Fondren’s Office - 4:00 pm


Friday, January 08

  • PLEDGE: Mrs. Phillips’ Class (please send 3-4 helpers to office by 8:50 am)

  • Project H.A.T.S. Day: Bring 50¢ and wear your favorite hat all day long!


LOOKING AHEAD:

Goal Teams Meeting on Tuesday, January 12

Kindergarten Prep Program (through Parents As Teachers) on Tuesday, January 12 (6:30 pm)

PTA Board Meeting on Tuesday, January 12

STUCO Spirit Day on Friday, January 15: Theme TBA

No School on Monday, January 18 - MLK, Jr. Day

Baby Shower for Kleinsassers on Tuesday, January 19

Site Leadership Meeting on Wednesday, January 20

PTA’s Jumpin’ Joey’s Night on Friday, January 22

Pre-K Story Time (hosted by Parents As Teachers) in Library on Monday, January 25 (10:00 am)

Celebration Assembly on Friday, January 29

Faculty Meeting on Tuesday, February 02

National School Counselor’s Day on Wednesday, February 03

Mid-Quarter 3rd Q on Wednesday, February 03

TST Meeting on Thursday, February 04

Project HATS Day on Friday, February 05

PTA Board Meeting on Tuesday, February 09 (6:30 pm)

Delaware Site Leadership Team Meeting on Wednesday, February 10

Valentine’s Day Parties at 2:30 pm on Friday, February 12

No School on Monday, February 15 - Presidents’ Day

Goal Teams after school on Tuesday, February 16

Kindergarten Prep Program (through Parents As Teachers) on Tuesday, February 16 (6:30 pm)

SGF Regional Opera presents “Three Little Piggies” to K & 1st at 9:15 am on Wednesday, February 17 (LIB)

TST Meeting on Thursday, February 18

STUCO Spirit Day on Friday, February 19 (Theme: TBA)

Staff HRAs on Friday, February 19 (see Nurse Kathy for details; ALL staff members invited to complete HRA)

3rd Grade to Peter & Wolf on Monday, February 22

Big image

Relationships Matter: Watch Rita Pierson

This is one of my very favorite TED Talks...Former educator, the late Rita Pierson, fully understood the importance of relationships with students. This TED Talk is a little over 7 minutes long, but will inspire you to seek first to understand rather than to be understood...and important lesson when relating to students.

Relationships Matter

Welcome back to 2016! As you return, I would encourage that your time and energies be focused on relationships and modeling those relationship that set the learning climate. Because learning is always double-coded—both cognitively (based on the content) and emotionally (based on the relationship)—relationships inherently enhance or detract from learning. Emotions are the motivation for learning. When learning is attached to emotion, it is remembered longer. It is also make it more relevant, as it is tied to the human experience. Think about the most memorable & remarkable times in your life--the reason you can remember them so vividly and heed them with such positivity is because they are attached to an experience (wedding, birth, vacation, graduation).


Here is one of my recent favorite tweets about the importance of positive relationships with your students:

Big image

Recognize an SPS Employee!

Springfield Public Schools has an Employee Recognition Form that can be used by any staff member to recognize any other staff member. It's quick and easy, and means so much to those that receive them. Want to recognize a colleague? Click HERE!
Big image

Teachers: Mark Your Calendars for Tuesday!

It will be like an episode of Oprah's Favorite Things--you'l leave with a new computer! Yeah!