Hawk Talk

December 1st, 2021 - Issue 15

STEAM SHOWCASE

You are invited to join us for the Steam Showcase on December 10th, Friday from 3:15 to 5:00 p.m. If you plan to attend the event please make parking arrangements accordingly.

Big picture

Front Gate is Staff Entrance Only

The front gate of the school is staff entrance only between 7:00 - 7:50 a.m. Please look at the map for clarification. Your cooperation is greatly appreciated in this matter.
Big picture
Big picture
PTO Meeting Zoom Link

Join us on Zoom if you can't make it in person.

Big picture

Health Notice to Parents

With concerns about Coronavirus and the Flu prominent in the community, we would like to remind families that, to prevent spread of contagious illness in the school, we recommend that your child stay home from school if experiencing flu or cold symptoms. To decide whether or not to send your child to school, please consider the following guidelines:


Consider keeping your child at home for an extra day of rest and observation if he or she has any of the following symptoms:


  • Very stuffy or runny nose and/or cough

  • Mild sore throat (no fever, no known exposure to strep)

  • Headache

  • Mild stomach ache


Definitely keep your child at home for treatment and observation if he or she has any of these symptoms:


  • Fever (greater than 100 degrees by mount and your child may return to school only after his or her temperature has been consistently below 100 degrees, by mouth, for a minimum of 24 hours)

  • Vomiting (even once)

  • Diarrhea

  • Chills

  • General malaise or feelings of fatigue, discomfort, weakness, or muscle aches

  • Frequent congested (wet) or croupy cough

  • Lots of nasal congestion with frequent blowing of nose


To help prevent the flu and other colds, teach your children good hygiene habits:


  • Wash hands frequently

  • Do not touch eyes, nose, or mouth

  • Cover mouth and nose when sneezing or coughing, use a paper tissue, throw it away and then wash hands

  • Avoid close contact with people who are sick.


Colds are the most contagious during the first 48 hours. A child who has a fever should remain at home until "fever free" for a minimum of 24 hours. A child who has started antibiotics needs to be on the medication for 48 hours before being considered non-contagious and able to return to school. Often when a child awakens with vague complaints (the way colds and flu begin) it is wise to observe your child at home for an hour or two before deciding whether or not to bring to school. Your child should be physically able to participate in all school activities on return to school. Keeping a sick child at home will minimize the spread of infections and viruses in the classroom.


Thank you in advance for helping make this year at school as healthy as possible.


If you have any questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to give us a call at 512-284-9800 ext 127.


Sincerely,


Brittany Bayne CMA

Health Aide

Reminders from Health Services

Big picture
Big picture

NEW Endeavor Spirit Shirts

T-Shirts to be worn on Fridays with jeans for students are now available!


Sizes will include Adult XS to Adult XXXL. Youth sizes are limited to only Youth Medium, Youth Large, and Youth XL. Please pay on RevTrak directly and once the order is in we will call your student to the front office for pick up.

Big picture
Spirit Shirt Payment Button

Click here to make payment

Big picture
Big picture

Important Announcement

Club dissmissal is from 4:50 to 5:00 p.m. All students, including club and tutorial participants, should be picked up by 5:00 p.m. Monday - Thursday. There is no club or tutorial on Fridays students should not remain in school after 3:00 p.m.


Students are not allowed to remain on campus unsupervised after designated dismissal times. The school will not have adult supervision after school hours. A student who remains on campus unsupervised after dismissal time may be subject to state criminal trespass laws.


Disciplinary consequences for remaining on campus unsupervised after designated dismissal times within a school year are as follows:


  • Warning notice sent to the parent informing of loitering policy and possible consequences for continued loitering
  • Meeting with parents - Removal from Club/Tutorial
  • Student assigned to Saturday detention; school contacts CPS
  • Student assigned to one-day in-school- suspension
  • Student assigned to one day out-of-school suspension
  • Student assigned up to three days out-of-school suspension; school contacts local law enforcement
Big picture
Big picture
Big picture

Breakfast AND LUNCH MENUS

Big picture
Big picture
Counselors' Corner

Visit Counselors' Corner

Harmony School of Endeavor Leadership Team

Please send an email request for an appointment first before coming to campus. We appreciate your understanding.


Campus Leadership Team


Toraman Yayla, Principal tyayla@harmonytx.org


Ruben Mutt Ortiz, Dean of Student Culture (PK-12) rortiz@harmonytx.org


Andreas Frangeskou, Dean of Academics (PK-5) afrangesko@harmonytx.org


Ayse Tunc, Dean of Academics (6-12) atunc@harmonytx.org


Mahmut Unver, Dean of College and Career munver@harmonytx.org


Joseph Kat, High School Counselor skat@harmonytx.org


Heather Olivo, Campus Seminar Advisor, holivo@harmonytx.org


Jenny Welch, Behavioral Counselor vwelch@harmonytx.org


Sonia Martinez, Student Recruitment Coordinator smartinez@harmonytx.org


Robert Garza, Testing/Federal Programs/Instructional Materials Coordinator rogarza@harmonytx.org


Mualla Ozguven, Student Success and Engagement Coordinator, mozguven@harmonytx.org


Emily Christian, SPED/504 Coordinator Emily.Christian@harmonytx.org


Paige Rivera, ESL/GT Coordinator Paige.Rivera@harmonytx.org


Candice George-Parsons, Business Operations Manager cgeorge@harmonytx.org


Joana Calzadillas, Attendance Specialist mcalzadillas@harmonytx.org


Matthew Rivera, Child Nutrition Assistant matthew.rivera@harmonytx.org


Amanda Robles, Campus Secretary, amanda.robles@harmonytx.org


Brittany Bayne, School Medical Assistant bbayne@harmonytx.org