Federal Executive Branch

Lindsey Pitonyak & Nadine Landmann

Information about the Federal Executive Branch

The Executive power rests with the president. Currently, Barack Obama holds this position. The function of this branch is to enforce laws within the federal government. The jobs of the president are: the chief of state, chief executive, chief diplomat, commander in chief, chief legislator, chief of party & chief guardian of the economy. The major departments in the President's Cabinet are: department of state, department of treasury, department of defense, department of justice, department of interior, department of agriculture, department of commerce, department of labor, department of labor, department of health and human services, department of housing and urban development, department of transportation, department of energy, department of education, & department of veterans affairs.

Information about the MD State Executive

The power rests with the governor, and the current holder is Lawrence J. Hogan JR. The functions of the Executive branch within the state government are: chief of staff, deputy chief of staff, appointments office, office of the business, ombudsman, etc. The major departments are: aging, agriculture, budget and management, commerce, disabilities, education, environment, general services, health and mental hygiene, housing and commerce development, human resources, information technology, juvenile services, labor, licensing, and regulation, natural resources, planning, state police, transportation and veteran affairs.

Conclusion Statement

Both executive branches have relatively the same departments, and also similar powers.