Cayman islands


cayman islands

capital:George town,land and water that border it:west bay land and caribbean sea,area:100mi2,population:58435. The Cayman Islands, located in the western Caribbean Sea, are the peaks of a massive underwater ridge, known as the Cayman Ridge. Those peaks just barely break the surface.

The terrain itself is mostly a low-lying limestone base surrounded by coral reefs.

The two "Sister Islands" of Cayman Brac and Little Cayman are located about 85 miles (135 km) northeast of Grand Cayman.

The Cayman Islands (collectively) have a coastline of 99 miles (159 km). The highest point is The Bluff, a limestone hill on Cayman Brac standing at 155 feet (47 m) in height.

Cayman islands

culture:The culture of the Cayman Islands has been influenced by Afro-Caribbeans of Jamaica, colonists of Great Britain, and more recent immigrants from the United States. In the 21st century, approximately 113 nationalities make up the residents on the three islands comprising the country.

Cayman islands

The Flag of the Cayman Islands was adopted on 14 May 1958 after the colony was officially granted a coat-of-arms. Prior to that, the Islands had used the British flag for all official occasions. In 1999, the white disc was removed and the arms were more than doubled in size, although the pre-1999 flag remains popular and is still used on some official occasions, and the Cayman Islands Government website describes the flag as a "British blue ensign with the arms on a white disc in the fly". During the 2004, 2008 and 2012 Summer Olympics, and during the 2010 and 2014 Winter Olympics, the Cayman Islands team marched in under the flag as described on the government website.The economy of the Cayman Islands, a British overseas territory located in the western Caribbean Sea, is mainly fueled by the tourism sector and by the financial services sector, together representing 70–80 percent of the country's gross domestic product (GDP). [3] The Cayman Islands Investment Bureau, a government agency, has been established with the mandate of promoting investment and economic development in the territory.[4]

The emergence of what are now considered the Cayman Islands' "twin pillars of economic development" (tourism and international finance) started in the 1950s with the introduction of modern transportation and telecommunications.[3] Government of the Cayman Islands takes place in a framework of a parliamentary representative democratic overseas territory, whereby thePremier is the head of government, and of a two-party system.[clarification needed] Executive power is exercised by the government.Legislative power is vested in both the government and the Legislative Assembly. The Judiciary is independent of the executive and the legislature.

The Cayman Islands' physical isolation under early British colonial rule allowed the development of an indigenous set of administrative and legal traditions which were codified into a constitution in 1959. A constitution, which devolved some authority from the United Kingdom to the Cayman Islands government, was passed by referendum on 20 May 2009. Subsequently, the islands have become largely self-governing.

The Cayman Islands' government is aided by a tradition of restrained civil governance from the United Kingdom.