Sri Lanka

Government, Economy, Culture, and Geography


The government type that Sri Lanka has is a republic. The capital of Sri Lanka is Colombo. Sri Lanka is split up into nie different provinces. They are called the central, eastern, north central, northern, north western, sabaragamuwa, southern, uva, and western provinces. The constitution was adopted on the 16th of August, in the year 1978. The name of the leaders of Sri Lanka are   Sarath Fonseka, the general of the army(now retired), Illandai Tamil Arasu Kachchi the leader of the Tamil National Alliance. United National Party is the leader of the United National Front and the Sri Lanka Freedom Party is the leader of the United People's Freedom Alliance. The age that people are allowed to vote is at the age of eight-teen. The name of the legislative branch is the unicameral Parliament. The name of the executive branch is the executive cabinet.


The per capita gross domestic product of Si Lanka is $6,100. The products that can be found in Sri Lanka are rice, sugarcane, grains, pulses, oilseed, spices, vegetables, fruit, tea, rubber, coconuts, milk, eggs, hides, beef, and fish. The industries found in Sri Lanka are the processing of rubber, tea, coconuts, tobacco, other agricultural industries, telecommunications, insurance, banking, tourism, shipping, clothing, textiles, cement, petroleum refining, information technology services, and construction industries. The import Partners and their percents of Sri Lanka are India 25.6%, China 15.9%, Singapore 7.1%, Iran 6.2%, and Japan 5%. THe export partners and their percents are US 19.8%, UK 9.2%, India 6.5%, Italy 5%, Germany 5%, and Belgium 4.4%. The percents of the labor force for agriculture is 31.8%, industries are 25.8%, and services are 42.4%. The name of the currency is the rupee.


Cul. info here.


Geo. info here.