Square Up to RTI2

December, 2017

"Working hard is important but there is something that matters more:

believing in yourself."

~J.K. Rowling

RTI2 Reminders

  • Direct Observations (Fidelity Checks) should be ongoing. Remember that 2 need to be completed for Tier 2 and 3 for Tier 3 students each semester
  • We are now using winter norms
  • Benchmarking dates: Winter- December 1-20
  • Benchmarking measures - See below for a list of the measures administered during the winter screening for grades K-5

Say Dyslexia Law Reminders

The Say Dyslexia Law requires us to use our existing RTI2 Framework to identify students with characteristics of dyslexia. Students requiring intervention in these areas do not necessarily have dyslexia; however, would benefit from this type of instructional support. The level of support a student requires will depend on the on the severity of those characteristics. Some may need Tier 1, Tier 2, or Tier 3 support.


Parents will be notified in a letter if their child exhibits characteristics of dyslexia and in what area(s). This letter will be sent home with interim reports after Winter CBM benchmarks in February with interim reports. This will give schools ample time to analyze all data and dig deeper to find students' area(s) of struggle.


ELEMENTARY


Step 1:

  • Acknowledge parent and staff concerns of students displaying characteristics of dyslexia
  • Dig deeper to find areas of struggle (Refer to: Measures in Identifying Characteristics of Dyslexia) It is important to include all forms of assessment available. These assessments include CARE, writing samples, antidotal notes and assessments given by classroom teachers.

Step 2:

Step 3:
  • Review Tier 2 students being monitored in Oral Reading Fluency
  • Review and determine characteristics of dyslexia (Refer to: Dyslexia Characteristics)
  • If the student is making progress, we would not change the intervention. We need to provide strategies in both intervention and Tier 1 to address the identified characteristics of dyslexia.
  • If the student is not making progress, dig deeper to find areas of struggle (Refer to: Measures in Identifying Characteristics of Dyslexia) It is important to include all forms of assessment available. These assessments include CARE, writing samples, antidotal notes and assessments given by classroom teachers.
  • Align intervention and Tier 1 instructional strategies to match the area of need


SECONDARY


Step 1:

Step 2:

Step 3:
  • Identify Tier 2 students being monitored on 4th grade level or lower in Oral Reading Fluency at the 4th grade level or below
  • Review and determine characteristics of dyslexia (Refer to: Dyslexia Characteristics)
  • If the student monitored above the 4th grade level is making progress, we may not need to change the intervention. We do need to provide strategies in both intervention and Tier 1 to address the identified characteristics of dyslexia.
  • If the student is not making progress, dig deeper to find areas of struggle (Refer to: Measures in Identifying Characteristics of Dyslexia)
  • Align intervention and Tier 1 instructional strategies to match the area of need


Secondary Dyslexia Intervention Information

Say Dyslexia Law Resources

  • The link below will take you to a Google folder with resources regarding dyslexia. Items include the PowerPoints and handouts from recent trainings, assessments like the PASS and PWRS, and more. Follow this link to Say Dyslexia Law resources

RTI2 Coaching Support

RTI2 COACHING SUPPORT

Paula Sarver, Lead Coach - paula.sarver@knoxschools.org

Peggy Burkey - peggy.burkey@knoxschools.org

Jan Coopwood - jan.coopwood@knoxschools.org

Karla Halcomb - karla.halcomb@knoxschools.org

Mary Lyster - mary.lyster@knoxschools.org

Christine Pope - christine.pope@knoxschools.org

Heidi Swaney - heidi.swaney@knoxschools.org

Beth Underwood - bethany.underwood@knoxschools.org

Jennifer Yow - jennifer.yow@knoxschools.org