The 7 Sacraments

By Shanai

What are the 7 Sacraments?

The 7 Sacraments are Baptism, Reconciliation, Eucharist, Conformation, Marriage, Holy Orders, Anointing Of The Sick.

What Is Baptism

Baptism is the very first sacrament you receive. The priest puts oil over your head and says 'I baptise you, in the name of the Father and of the son and of the Holy Spirit, Amen.' The Symbols for Baptism are Water, Holy Oils, a Dove and the Baptism Candle.


Reconciliation is the second sacraments you receive around the age of 8-9 or in year 3 if you go to a Catholic school. The symbols are a cross, keys, a stole, a raised hand and a scouring whip. After you have confessed to the priest he gives you a special prayer to say.


The Eucharist is the third sacrament that you can receive and you can receive that in year 4. You much put your left hand of your right hand to receive the bread and you must bow before you have the bread. The priest will say the body of Christ and you will reply Amen. You then step aside, but the body of Christ in your mouth and then make the sign of the cross. The symbols involved are Bread, Wine, Water and a white garment.


Conformation is the sacrament which is pretty much the sacrament that you say that you would like to be a catholic. Conformation is your decision because if you were baptised as a baby you did not get a choice to choose wether or not you wanted to become catholic but this sacrament is your choice. The symbols are the cross, water and light.


Marriage is an optional sacrament that you can is normally when a boy and a girl promise to spend there lives together and help each other in tough situations. the symbols of marriage are rings, a marriage or unity candle, some other things could also be flowers, music.

What is Holy Orders

Holy orders is the other option to marriage. The Catholics believe that if you receive holy orders that you are married to the church or to Christ. The symbols used are a stole, book of the gospels, chalice, paten and a cross

What is Anointing of the Sick?

Anointing of the sick is when the priest goes to the sick person and gives them a final blessing to clean him/her from their sins. The person can receive this sacrament at any age and more then once. The symbols used are Oil, the priest makes the sign of the cross with oil on the forehead and the priest also puts his hands on the person who is sick to comfort them.