The Progressive Presidents


President TR

Theodore often referred to as TR, was an American statesman, author, explorer, soldier, naturalist, and reformer who served as the 26th President of the United States from 1901 to 1909. He was a major leader of the Republican Party during this time and he was a key player for the Progressive Era in the United States.

TR Leadership's (B+)

The Square Deal was a domestic program created with three basic ideas: conservation of natural resources, control of corporations, and consumer protection. As a progressive President Roosevelt believed in government action to mitigate social evils, and as president denounced "the representatives of predatory wealth” as guilty of “all forms of iniquity from the oppression of wage workers to defrauding the public


TR's Organization (A)

Roosevelt, at age 42, became the youngest United States President in history. Leading his party and country into the Progressive Era, he championed his Square Deal domestic policies, promising the average citizen fairness, breaking of trusts, regulation of railroads, and pure food and drugs. Making conservation a top priority, he established new national parks, forests, and monuments intended to preserve the nation's natural resources. In foreign policy, he started in Central America, where he began construction of the Panama Canal (

TR's Contributions (A)

TR's contributions were preserving natural resources such as parks, recreation, and protecting wildlife. His contributions were that future generations would be able to enjoy our country's forests and wildlife. Another contribution was making sure the average citizen was treated fairly in business and by paying fair prices for goods and products. He set limits on trusts so that they could not monopolize businesses.

William Taft

William Taft was the 27th President and later became the tenth Chief of Justice. Taft graduated from Yale as a lawyer and then he became a judge. He was appointed circuit judge at age 34 and he was a member of the supreme court. President Roosevelt made Taft Secretary of War. Taft followed the footsteps of Roosevelt's progressive plan and won the presidency from 1909 to 1919.

Taft's Leadership