MGM 8th Grade House News

August 31, 2018

Welcome!

Welcome to 8th Grade! Please read below for house news, upcoming assessments, and 8th-grade house highlights. These newsletters will be emailed every Friday.

Follow Us!

Please keep up with news and happenings at MGMS by following us on social media. Check us out at:


Facebook @mgmsgators

Twitter @mgmgators

Instagram @mgmgators

School website: mgms.lexington1.net

Teacher Contact Information

Please contact your child's teacher if you have any questions or concerns.

Administration:

Dr Bill Coon - bcoon@lexington1.net

Dr. Kyle Meetze - kmeetze@lexington1.net

Jamie Powell-jpowell@lexington1.net

Alisa Long- aklong@lexington1.net

House Leader

Ashley Holmes aholmes@lexington1.net


8th Grade Core Teachers

Please see the attached information for 8th grade core teachers. Each content area also provided tips for success in these classes.


Encore Teachers

Drama - Rachel Cooper - rlcooper@lexington1.net

Orchestra - Jennifer Mann - jmann@lexington1.net

Dance - Megan Viazanko- mviazanko@lexington1.net

Dance - Kara Corley - kccorley@lexington1.net

Band - Melanie Winn- mwinn@lexinton1.net

Art - June Collins - jcollins@lexington1.net

Art - Beth Maddox - bmaddox@lexington1.net

Chorus - Augie Gil- agil@lexington1.net

STEM - Cliff Roberts - cjroberts@lexington1.net

ICIVICS - Melody Shafer - mshafer@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed - Phillip Thomas - pthomas@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed - Stephen Harmon - srharmon@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed- Abby Chisholm - achisholm@lexington1.net

PE - Candice Cobb - ccobb@lexington1.net

PE - Ben Anderson- rbanderson2@lexington1.net

Digital Design - Ryan Panter - rpanter@lexington1.net

Supplemental Math - Ann Bennett - abennett@lexington1.net

Academic Seminar LA - Susan Myrick - smyrick@lexington1.net

Math RTI - Trisha Hamilton - thamilton@lexington1.net

ELA RTI - Rayna Kleckley - rkleckley@lexington1.net

Academic Seminar LA - Jennifer Williams - jbwilliams@lexington1.net


World Language

Latin - Jessica Stolebarger - jstolebarger@lexington1.net

French - Dr. Todd Spaulding - tspaulding@lexington1.net

French - Erin Hamner - ehamner@lexington1.net

French - Cheikh Fall - cfall@lexington1.net

French - Catherine Pontens-Alemu - cpontens-alemu@lexington1.net

Chinese - Na Zhang - nzhang@lexington1.net

Chinese - Susan Wang - ywang@lexington1.net

Chinese-Natalie Lukity - nlukity@lexington1.net

Spanish - Samantha Simmons - ssimmons@lexington1.net

Spanish - Valentina Salomon msalomon@lexington1.net

Spanish - Hilda Duarte - hduartegomez@lexington1.net

Spanish - Filder Segura - fsegura@lexington1.net

MGM Counseling Department - Follow us on Twitter: @mgmcounseling

MGM PTO NEWS

Sign up using the link below to receive emails from MGMS PTO. We will share information about our meetings, events, volunteer opportunities and more! Register Here Please contact us at mgmsptogators@gmail.com if you have any questions.

8TH GRADE UPCOMING ASSESSMENTS

IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS ABOUT ASSESSMENTS BELOW, PLEASE EMAIL YOUR CHILD'S TEACHER.
ELA: Summative Assessment--See your teacher's Schoology page for details


ENGLISH I: Check Schoology for updates


PRE-ALGEBRA: None. STAR 360 Testing Tuesday 9/4


ALGEBRA I: None. STAR 360 Testing Tuesday 9/4


GEOMETRY: See Schoology for updates


SCIENCE : None


SOCIAL STUDIES: Unit 1-2 Resistance to Slavery Quiz is Friday 9/7


WORLD LANGUAGES: Please click on the link to view assessments.

Honors/Advanced Art Classes Field Study

Friday, Sept. 28 the Honors or Advanced Art classes (2 all year classes) will travel to The Biltmore to see the Chihuly installation. We will leave at 6:30 am and plan to return by 5:15/5:30

Digital Survey

Meadow Glen Middle School is working with researchers from the Harvard Graduate School of Education as part of a new project on how schools can prepare tweens and teens to navigate digital life. The researchers are also surveying parents to learn more about parents’ views. We hope you’ll consider taking their 12-15-minute survey (which you can complete anonymously!) to share your perspectives with their research team.


Digital Dilemmas Parent Survey

HOUSE HAPPENINGS

Thank you for sharing your children with us each day! We look forward to a great school year!