October 26th Jefferson Journal

Fall Conferences

Fall Conferences are on Tuesday October 26 from 3:30 - 7:30 pm and Wednesday, October 27 from 12:30 - 8pm. Please bring your student to the conference with you if possible. If you have any questions please contact the office at 715-261-0175 or contact your students teacher. Remember to sign up by Monday, October 25th.

To sign up for your conference, please use the following link.

https://www.ptcfast.com/schools/Thomas_Jefferson_Elementary

Newsletter Oct 26th

Upcoming Events

October 26th: Conferences from 3:30-7:30pm

October 27th: Conferences from 12:00-8:00pm

October 27th, 28th & 29th: NO SCHOOL

November 2nd: Picture Retake 8:30-12:30pm

November 5th: 3rd Grade visits the School Forest

November 18th: Hmong New Year Celebration 5:30-6:30


Kaum Hli 26: Nam Txiv tuaj ntsib Naikhu 3:30 - 7:30 tsaus ntuj

Kaum Hli 27: Nam Txiv tuaj ntsib Naikhu 12:00 - 8:00 tsaus ntuj

Kaum Hli 27 - 29 TSI MUAJ KAWM NTAWV

Kaum Ib Hli 2 Rov Qaab Thaib Dluab 8:30-12:30 taav su

Kaum Ib Hli 18 Hmoob Noj Peb Caug 5:30-6:30 tsaus ntuj

Kaum Ib Hli 5: Qaib 3 Moog tom School Forest


Remember to check out the Thomas Jefferson School calendar on the website.to view what is going on at the school. The button below will take you to the calendar.

Playground Information

The cold Wisconsin weather is almost here! Parents....PLEASE make sure your child is dressed appropriately for the playground.

When there is snow on the ground, students MUST be wearing ALL OF the "Magic 5" to play in the snow: 1) Warm jacket 2) Hat 3) Mittens/gloves 4) Boots 5) Snow pants. We want our students to be safe and warm at recess!!!

Returning back to school from Quarantine

If your student has been Quarantined because of being ill and they received a negative PCR Covid test or alternate medical diagnosis from a medical practitioner, please send test results and any medical documentation to our Health Aide, Megan Bach, at mbach@wausauschools.org . Please contact Megan and send the test results and medical documentation BEFORE sending your student back to school. Any questions, please email Megan and/or call the Health Office at 715-261-0186.

Thank you so much!!

Big picture

Music Concert Update

The Wausau School District remains committed to advancing student learning, achievement, and success. As part of that, we highly value the educational benefits that Music Education Programming and encore classes provide our students, not to mention the related performance opportunities that our students have in our K-12 schools. That said, since there’s still so much uncertainty surrounding the pandemic, the Wausau School District is going to err on the side of caution and postpone all elementary music concerts until at least Spring. The decision was made for a couple of reasons. The main one is the safety of our students, their families, and our staff. As you know, right now elementary-aged students are not able to get vaccinated against COVID-19 like many of our middle and high school students can. In addition to the fact that not everyone can get vaccinated, concerts often bring together a lot of people in one space and we want to make sure everyone is not only safe but feels comfortable participating and watching. Please know, the District will reevaluate the situation in the spring and keep you up-to-date after the new year as to the status of concert performances at that time.

PTO Information

Please check out these opportunities to help out with the PTO!!

1.) Please fill out your background check so you can volunteer: Volunteer

2.) Sign-up for bringing in dessert or light snack for Parent/Teacher Conferences: signupgenius

3.) Follow on Facebook: Thomas Jefferson Jaguars PTO

Attendance Information

Please call the Thomas Jefferson office to report any absences. Even if you have notified your child’s teacher(s), please still notify the office of any absences or appointments. Please remember to call before 9:00 am. If calling the school before the office is open please leave a voice message for us with your child's name, reason for the absent (if ill what the symptoms are please see below) who is calling and a phone number where you can be reached if there are any questions.


If you have a student in K-5th please contact :

715-261-0175 or you may also email Mrs. Tranchita at ctranchita@wausauschools.org


If you have a student in 4K please contact:

715-261-0185 or email Mrs. Channel at achannel@wausauschools.org


Please note a student may not be excused by a parent for more than ten (10) days per school year. The student must complete any course work missed during the absence. Examples of reasons for being absent that can be counted under these 10 parent approved days include, but are not limited to, the following:

1. professional and other necessary appointments (e.g., medical, dental, and legal) that cannot be scheduled outside of the school day

2. illness without a medical excuse from a physician

3. attend a funeral

4. vacations

Leader in Me

Big picture

Important information needed

If you have a phone number or address that changes please contact the school office at 715-261-0175 or email tsteckling@wausauschools.org. It is very important that we have correct phone numbers and addresses on file.

Bridging Brighter Smiles

Bridging Brighter Smiles Dental will be at Thomas Jefferson Friday November 19, 2021. Use this link to enroll online http://enrollment.bbsmiles.org/ or download and fill out one of the forms and return it to the school office.


Professional Dental Services Provided Right at School Include:

  • Oral Screening
  • Dental Cleaning
  • Fluoride Varnish Application
  • Dental Sealant Placement
  • Silver Diamine Fluoride Application
  • Oral Health Education
  • Referral Assistance

Tardy Policy

Big picture
Big picture
Big picture

Link to WSD Covid Dashboard, Elementary and Secondary Matrices

As we enter the 2021-22 school year, the Wausau School District is offering the highest quality educational experience for students. We are taking several steps to monitor and mitigate the spread of COVID. We are also taking steps to minimize the time lost to quarantines.

We are working with the Marathon County Health Department to monitor and mitigate the spread of the virus in our community and our schools and will revisit our protocols as necessary at any point during the school year. Public health is a whole community effort and the District can not be successful on our own. Below are some practices that families can take, as well as, the school district.

Wausau School District COVID-19 Information

COVID-19 DASHBOARD COVID-19 GUIDELINES COVID-19 MITIGATION STRATEGIES UPDATE

Big picture
Big picture
Big picture
Big picture

Bussing Questions??

We are happy to help answer bussing questions as best we can. Often times, however, First Student Bus Company is your best first contact.


First Student Contact Information:

715-842-2268 Phone

715-845-5155 Fax


First Student policy required ALL bus riders to wear a face mask. If your student is a bus rider, please make sure they have a mask for the before and after school bus ride.


Field Trips require all riders to wear a mask. Please remember to have a couple masks in your students backpack so they are prepared when attending field trips.

Staff Directory

Principal Mr. Johnson bsjohnson@wausauschools.org

Secretary Mrs. Tammy Steckling tsteckling@wausauschools.org

Building/ Office para Mrs. Colette Tranchita ctranchita@wausauschools.org


Health Aid:

Ms. Megan Bach- mbach@wausauschools.org


Pupil Services

Counselor: Ms. Sue Doerr sdoerr@waususchools.org

Social worker: Mrs. Morgan Knetter mknetter@wausauschools.org

Psychologist: Mrs. Amanda Melville amelvill@wausauschools.org

Bridge Room Coordinator: Ms. Amber Sparby asparby@wausauschools.org


4K Staff

Mrs. Amber Channel achannel@wausauschools.org

Ms. Samantha Kniess skniess@wausauschools.org

Mrs. BreAnne Wais bwais@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Renee Krautkramer rkrautkr@wausauschools.org

Mrs. May Xiong maxiong@wausauschools.org


Kindergarten Teachers

Mrs. April Voigt avoigt@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Kelly Hummel khummel@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Katelyn Veith. kveith@wausauschools.org


1st Grade Teachers

Mrs. Diana Gartzke dgartzke@wausauschools.org

Mrs Deb Treager dtreager@wausauschools.org

Mr. Matt Schilling mschilling@wausauschools.org


2nd Grade Teachers

Mrs. Diane Eder deder@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Carrie Helke cahelke@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Taylor Frank tfrank@wausauschools.org


3rd Grade Teachers

Mrs. Jill Ebersold jebersol@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Sandy Knoll sknoll@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Heather Trollop htrollop@wausauschools.org


4th Grade Teachers

Mrs. Leslie Ninnemann lninnema@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Kary Riggs kriggs@wausauschools.org


5the Grade Teachers

Mrs. Jen Davidson jdavidso@wausauschools.org

Ms. Emily Fritz efritz@wausauschools.org


Encore Team

Art- Jennifer Lingford jlingford@wausauschools.org

Gym- Christin Sullivan csulliv@wausauschools.org

Science- Tori Dienger vdienger@wausauschools.org

Music- Sana Wressell swressel@wausauschools.org

Library- Jennifer Moore jmoore@wausauschools.org


Special Education

Mrs. Justine Callahan jcallahan@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Kim Ickert kickert@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Jennifer Faust jfaust@wausauschools.org


Gifted & Talented

Mrs. Cheryl Borta- cborta@wausauschools.org


EL

Mrs. Paokee Xiong. paxiong@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Lisa Alexander lalexand@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Halle Veenstra- hveenstr@wausauschools.org


Title I

Mrs. Amy Akey- aabitzak@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Trenny Frahm- tfrahm@wausauschools.org


Speech

Mrs. Michelle Debot mdebot@wausauschools.org


Translation support

Mrs. Eileen Thao ethao@wausauschools.org

The Wausau School District does not discriminate on the basis of race, age, color, religion, national origin, ancestry, creed, pregnancy, marital status, parental status, sexual orientation, sex (including transgender status, change of sex or gender identity), or physical, mental, emotional, or learning disability (“Protected Classes”).