WHPE JanuaryUpdate

Big image

Happy New Year!

I hope everyone had a wonderful holiday. It was one of the best that I can remember. Time with family really does re-energize! With the new year comes new hope for the future. With the passage of the Every Student Succeeds Act which included the inclusion of health and physical education as part of every student's well rounded education, we have actual reasons to hope.


We need to start advocating in our districts to make certain that the decision makers are ready to use some of the funds from the new Title IV towards health and physical education. We are still waiting for how and when the new funds will be distributed to the DPI and then to the schools. The federal fiscal year starts October 1st but again, we don't know when the DPI will be distributing funds to the schools. As we find out, we will share it. In the mean time, check out the links from some information on the new ESSA from SHAPE America.


Have a great second semester everyone!


Sincerely,



Brett Fuller

WHPE President

"We're Built to Move"

2016 Hot Topics in Adapted Physical Education Workshop, February 10, 2016

Don't miss out on this excellent professional development opportunity for Adapted Physical Educators. The workshop will be held on Wednesday, February 10, 2016 at the Stoney Creek Hotel, Onalaska, WI. Pre-registration deadline is Monday, January 25, 2016. Informational brochure and registration materials can be found online at www.whpe.us

SHAPE America Podcast and Webinar on ESSA

Check out the ESSA Podcast and Webinars below!

ESSA Archived Webinar

You may need to be a SHAPE America member to access this webinar. Another reason to do Jump Rope for Heart/Hoops for Heart, if you raise $2,000 you get a free online membership.

Trauma Informed Schools

When we are looking at what is occurring in our society and in our schools we have to look at the experience of our students. Many students are exposed to repeated trauma. The type of trauma that causes post traumatic stress syndrome in our soldiers. To make matters worse, many of out students are exposed to repeated trauma in their communities and homes. Please check out the Ted Talk about trauma by Dr. Nadine Burke Harris.

Jump Rope for Heart/Hoops for Heart

Another reminder that it is NEVER too late to consider doing Jump Rope for Heart/Hoops for Heart.


If you have questions, get in touch with Penny Kroening, the WHPE Jurmp Rope for Heart/Hoops for Heart Coordinator! PKROENIN@waukesha.k12.wi.us


You can also contact the American Heart Association Youth Marketing Directors directly:

Northern Wisconsin/UP MI

Amy.Calouette@heart.org


Northeast WI (Green Bay)

Korren.Jewitt@heart.org


Northeast WI (Oshkosh)

Jackie.Weir@heart.org


Central WI

Kristine.Lange@heart.org


North Central, WI (Eau Claire)

Renee.M.Davis@heart.org


Southwest WI

Samantha.Berg@heart.org


Lakeshore/MPS

Tim.Nikolai@heart.org


Kenosha/Racine

Lisa.Schweitzer@heart.org


North/West Milwaukee, Columbia County

Marylee.Flannigan@heart.org


When in doubt…

Kori.Coffeen@heart.org

2016 Relevant Issues for Health Education Teachers, March 11, 2016

Health Education Teachers...don't miss out on this excellent workshop and sharing day. This event will be held on Friday, March 11, 2016 at the Stoney Creek Hotel in Wausau, WI. Registration materials and presenter information can be found online at www.whpe.us.

2016 WHPE State Convention call for proposals!

Friday, March 11th, 11:45pm

This is an online event.

Let's start thinking about the 2016 Convention at the Wilderness Lodge in Wisconin Dells. Submit your proposal online.


Check out the www.whpe.us

2016 WHPE Awards

Monday, Feb. 1st, 11:45pm

This is an online event.

Nominations for the 2016 WHPE Awards are due by February 1, 2016.


Check out www.whpe.us