College of Environment & Design

Career Center Faculty/Staff Newsletter

Partner with us!

Greetings from UGA’s Career Center! I am very excited about the Fall Semester. It is my hope that we can partner in creating exciting, new opportunities for students to excel in their career path!


Here are a few ways that we can partner:

Provide Career Center info to students:
  • College of Environment & Design Career Consultant, Kelley Saussy, kelleyrw@uga.edu
  • To make an appointment, call 706-542-3375 OR
  • Visit Walk-In Hours, Mondays, 12-2pm, Career Center Computer Lab, 2nd Floor of Clark Howell Hall


Don’t Cancel Class: Allow me to come and speak to students about our services, the job search, or other career-related needs when you know you will be out.

I have previously presented on the following topics in classes:

  • Career Center Resources/Overview
  • Resume and Cover Letter Writing
  • Internship/Job Search
  • Interviewing
  • Career Fair Prep
  • Dress and Dining Etiquette
  • Negotiating the Job Offer

If you don't have time for me to present to your class, consider showing your students this brief instructional video about The Career Center:

Intro to the UGA Career Center

General Fall Career Center Events

AUGUST

Student Employment Fair

Wednesday, Aug. 20, 11:00am-3:00pm, Tate (5th Floor)

How to Write a Resume and Cover Letter that Will Take You to the Top of the Pile!

Wednesday, August 27, 4:00pm-5:00pm, MLC 101


SEPTEMBER

7 Steps to Becoming a LinkedIn All-Star

Wednesday, Sept. 3, 5:00pm-6:00pm, MLC 148

Networking: The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly

Monday, Sept. 8, 5:00pm-6:00pm, MLC 148

Resume Critique Days

Sept. 9, 10, 11, and 16, 10:00am-3:00pm, Tate (5th Floor)

Career Fair Prep: How to Stand Out From the Crowd…in a GOOD Way!

Monday, Sept. 15, 5:30pm-6:30pm, MLC 101

Fall Career Fair

Wednesday, Sept. 17, 12:00pm-5:00pm, The Classic Center

Smart Interviewing: Advice No One Else is Telling You!

Thursday, Sept. 18, 3:30pm-4:30pm, MLC 171

Advanced Portfolio Resources

Tuesday, Sept. 23, 5:00pm-6:00pm, MLC 148

Career Exploration: Finding Your Career Fit

Monday, Sept. 29, 3:30pm-5:00pm, MLC 248


OCTOBER

6 Things to Consider When Choosing Your Dream Major

Wednesday, Oct. 1, 4:00pm-5:00pm, MLC 148

Leveraging LinkedIn: Advanced Networking, Job Search, and Career Exploration

Monday, Oct. 6, 5:00pm-6:00pm, MLC 248

Graduate School Fair

Wednesday, Oct. 15, 11:00am-2:00pm, Tate (5th Floor)

Show Me the Money: Salary Negotiations

Wednesday, Oct. 22, 5:00pm-6:15pm, MLC 248

How to Lose a Job in 10 Days: Secrets of Business Etiquette and Communication

Monday, Oct. 27, 4:00pm-5:00pm, MLC 248

5 Simple Steps for Getting Into Graduate School

Wednesday, Oct. 29, 4:30pm-5:30pm, MLC 148


NOVEMBER

The 7 Biggest Mistakes Students Make Seeking Jobs & Internships

Tuesday, Nov. 4, 4:00pm- 5:00pm, MLC 171