ESL Strategies of the Month

October 2018

Clarify Input

Big picture
"Everything in writing begins with language. Language begins with listening." --Jeanette Winterson

Increased listening comprehension results in increased reading comprehension!

Great for all learners, essential for your English learners!

"Most people do not listen with the intent to understand; they listen with the intent to reply." --Stephen R. Covey

Powerful Podcasts

Powerful Podcasts - When you find the right podcast, student engagement skyrockets!


While there are many podcasts available, here are are few examples for specific contents to get you started.

Science: Brains On

History: The Past and the Curious

ELAR: The Unexplainable Disappearance of Mars Patel

Double Vision Video

Double Vision Video - Use this strategy to clarify input and improve listening comprehension.


The students will watch the same short video clip twice -the first time with no sound. The learners will make predictions about the video and possible vocabulary that might be included. During the second viewing, the students will listen for specific language and content during the video. The learners will take notes and then discuss important content with peers.

Guided Notes

Guided Notes - This strategy is easily accommodated for various levels of English development. Some learners' guided notes can have word banks and sentence stems, while others can be left more open.

How do you document these EL strategies in ELLevation?

Focused listening is a life skill that will benefit all of your learners, but this skill is priceless for ELLs. In order to fully develop language, students must be able to listen intentionally. Documentation of listening is difficult. You can make notes about your observations during the various listening activities. You can also upload a copy of individual guided notes into ELLevation.

"Listening is being able to be changed by the other person." --Alan Alda

Secondary ESL Teachers/Facilitators

Laura Bird - CMSE - lbird@coppellisd.com

Colleen Cobb - CMSN - ckcobb@coppellisd.com

Colleen Friskey - CMSW - cfriskey@coppellisd.com

Jessica Lynch - CHS9 - jlynch@coppellisd.com

Shauna Carter - CHS - sbcarter@coppellisd.com

Tim Watson - CHS - twatson@coppellisd.com