Take a Drive on the Google Side

Store | Create | Collaborate

Big image

Cloud computing at its best!

Google Drive allows you to store files, create documents, and collaborate with others - all in the cloud!


Google Drive: One safe place for all your stuff

STORE

You can use Google Drive to store all types of files just as you would use an online storage service like DropBox or Box.com. This type of storage allows you to save in the cloud and it has advantages:


  • You can access your files from any computer connected to the Internet.
  • The files stay in your Google account forever unless you delete them.
  • The files are backed up to multiple servers so you don't have to worry about them.
  • You can store many file types including text, image, audio and video files.



With your GAFE (Google Apps for Education) account, you get 30 gigabytes of storage space FREE. That will hold roughly the equivalent of 17 million sheets of 8.5 x 11 inch single-spaced paper!


Regular Google accounts provide 15 gigabytes of storage space.

Big image

CREATE

In Google Drive, you will see the big red CREATE button on the left.


When you click on CREATE, you have the ability to create documents that are very similar to Microsoft Office documents, and you get a couple of nice bonuses including Forms and Drawing options.


Documents created within Google Drive do NOT count against your storage space so.....you can create all the Google Docs you like!

Big image

Collaborate

Google Drive lets you share your your files without having to send them as email attachments. You can share multiple files all at once by putting them in a folder.


The best part about sharing is that multiple people can work on the same document at the same time because it is a LIVE document. No more emailing back and forth and wondering if everyone has the most up-to-date version; the document is ALWAYS up to date!


Sharing is as easy as indicating which email addresses or mailing lists should have access to a file.


Sharing settings allow you to decide if you want others to


  • view only
  • be able to comment
  • have rights to edit

Click here for details on how to share.



Click here for additional help on sharing settings.


What if someone messes up the document? No worries! Use the Revision History to restore to a previous version.

  1. Select File > See revision history.
  2. Click a time stamp in the right pane to see a previous version of the document, edited by the collaborators listed below the time stamp. Any changes made by a particular collaborator will be shown in the body of the document in the color assigned to that individual in the revision history pane.
  3. If you'd like to revert to the version you're currently viewing, click Restore this revision.
  4. If you'd like to return to the the current version of your document to continue editing, click the X in the upper right of the 'Revision History' pane.

Ideas for Using Google Drive in the Classroom

Thanks to Susan Oxnevad for putting together this great glog!
Big image