Inglewood Primary School

NEWSLETTER No 01 - 7 February 2019

Our Mission:

Learning to think, to do, to be

Ako ki te whakaaro, ako ki te mahi, ako kia ora ai te mauri

Our Vision: To provide a teaching and learning environment where of those involved: demonstrate respect, expect the best, achieve through opportunity, communicate actively & feel good and safe


Nga mihi ki a koutou. Naumai, Haere mai ki te tau hau.

Welcome back to everyone to the 2019 School Year.


We hope you all had an enjoyable christmas period and are enjoying this great run of weather. A very warm welcome to IPS for our many new students and their whanau. During the week we had our Powhiri to welcome all our new students and staff members, Emma Burleigh, Libby O'Connor and Mel Zimmerman.


We have had a fantastic start to the year and students have settled back into class routines very well. It has been great to see students make positive connections within their class, with their teacher and new classmates.


Our student - teacher- whanau learning partnership conferences were held last Friday and again provided teachers with great insight and assurances for students. We had a 75% turn -out of students and parents we spoke with found this opportunity invaluable.


School Hours:

An 8.30am bell signals that students can enter their classroom, and the 9.00am bell indicates the daily learning programme to start.

Interval is from 10.30am- 10.50am, lunch begins at 12.30pm with lunch eating at 1.10pm. School finishes for the day at 3.00pm.

The road patrols operate till 3.15, and students are expected to leave the school grounds before this time, unless under supervision from their parents or are waiting for the after school care van. Students in the Growing Kids after school care programme will go to the hall at the completion of school. Thanks for your cooperation with this.

REACH Goal

Week 2 - 3

Be welcoming and inclusive and celebrate all.

Te Whakanui Te Whakauru me te whakaaio te katoa.

Students of the Week

Bell Building Y7 & 8

Max Walker for making it his mission to welcome all new students and help establish routines in Puke Haupapa.


Our school roll is currently 322.

Welcome to Obie Griffin, Boris Wong, Dylan Langridge, Chloe Johns, Blake White, Charlie Mitchell, Kade Langridge, Janae Rolls, Reef Ward, Arlo Jonker, Lusiana Nakuta, Sakura Engelbrecht, Alexander Clancy, Ninia Sutton, Kaelyn Osborne, Tyler Polglase, Mila Minnear, William Young, Jay Jay Langdon-Williams, Blake Frechtling, Cooper Beale, Maddison Beale, Dallas Barton, Tyler Birkett-McCarvill, Loreal Birkett-McCarvill, Hayley Storer, Amyah Ritchie, Archie Anderson, Ella Robertson, Dayton Pihama and Jahmaine Pihama who have joined Inglewood Primary School this year.

Happy Birthday

to Sakura Engelbrecht, Alexander Clancy, Katelyn Polglase, Dallas Baker, Vanessa Wellstood, Jayde McLeman, Sam Walker, Luke Richardson, Millah Thompson and Abigail Roguski

who are celebrating their birthday's this week.

Scholastic Book Club Orders

All orders are due back to the school office by Monday 18 February.

Sports Information

Weetbix TRYathlon New Plymouth Tuesday 26 March 2019. Please register online at https://www.registernow.com.au/secure/Register.aspx?E=31850 and nominate Inglewood Primary School. Any queries, please see the school office.

Term 1 Calendar (This may change on a weekly basis)

Monday 11 February

Full School Assembly 11.30am


Wednesday 13 February

Mini Moa 1.30pm in Room 1

Year 7 & 8 Technology at IHS

Board of Trustees Meeting - 6.30pm in the Staffroom


Thursday 14 February

Pita Pit lunch orders due to the office by 3pm

POD Trip


Friday 15 February

Pita Pit Lunch


Monday 18 February

Life Education Trust Visiting

Pouakai Assembly - 12 noon


Tuesday 19 February

Life Education Trust Visiting


Wednesday 20 February

Life Education Trust Visiting

Year 7 & 8 Technology at IHS


Thursday 21 February

Life Education Trust Visiting

POD Trip


Friday 22 February

Life Education Trust Visiting


Monday 25 February

Life Education Trust Visiting

Full School Assembly 11.30am


Tuesday 26 February

Life Education Trust Visiting

ParentLink Sausage Sizzle Lunch orders due to the office by 3pm


Wednesday 27 February

ParentLink Sausage Sizzle Lunch

Year 7 & 8 Technology at IHS


Thursday 28 February

POD Trip


Monday 4 March

Pouakai Assembly 12pm


Wednesday 6 March

Year 7 & 8 Technology at IHS


Thursday 7 March

POD Trip


Friday 8 March

Teacher Only Day: Kahui Ako Cluster Professional Development Day


Thursday 14 March

Pita Pit lunch orders due to the office by 3pm

POD Trip


Friday 15 March

Pita Pit Lunch


Monday 18 March

Pouakai Assembly 12noon


Tuesday 19 March

Pouakai Swimming Showcase 1.30pm


Wednesday 20 March

Panitahi Swimming Showcase 1.30pm

Year 7 & 8 Technology at IHS


Thursday 21 March

School Swimming Sports - Inglewood Pools (age 8 and above)

POD Trip


Friday 25 March

Full School Assembly 11.30am


Tuesday 26 March

ParentLink Sausage Sizzle Lunch orders due to the office by 3pm


Wednesday 27 March

ParentLink Sausage Sizzle Lunch

Year 7 & 8 Technology


Thursday 28 March

POD Trip



Monday 1 April

Pouakai Assembly 12noon


Wednesday 3 April

No Year 7 & 8 Technology at the High School


Thursday 4 April

POD Trip


Friday 5 April

Town v Country Swimming - Stratford Pools


Monday 8 April

Full School Assembly 11.30am


Thursday 11 April

POD Trip

Pita Pit Lunch orders to the office by 3pm


Friday 12 April

Pita Pit Lunch

Last Day of Term 1


Monday 29 April

First Day of Term 2

Big picture

Community News

Florist: Please support our local new florist at 121 Rata Street, Inglewood - The Love Bunch Florist. Stephanie Valentine has an amazing range of flowers for bouquets, arrangements, weddings and funerals. Phone 0272879780 or email thelovebunch@xtra.co.nz.

IPS Clothing

Please click on the link to order directly from our school website or pop into the school office.

https://www.inglewoodprimary.school.nz/shop/


Please note all Polo Shirts will be $15 for Term 1 2019 - get in quick.

Big picture
Big picture