School Closure Resources

Jackson County ISD Whole Child

Mental Health Crisis Resource Card

If you or someone you know is struggling with a mental health emergency, please utilize the information on the Mental Health Crisis Resource Card below to get connected with the appropriate emergent services. Visit the websites listed on the card for up-to-date information related to how various agencies in Jackson County are providing services during the outbreak of COVID-19.
Big picture
Big picture

Food Distribution Sites

Our schools and community have come together to ensure that all of our students are fed during this time of crisis. Click here for a list of food distribution sites

Michigan Department of Education also released a map showing food sites across the state.

View it here.

COVID-19 Response Fund

United Way of Jackson County and the Jackson Community Foundation jointly launched a new fund to help the community deal with the effects of the COVID-19 outbreak and the steps taken to slow the disease’s spread.


“We’re deeply concerned over the impact of the novel coronavirus on our community,

and especially how it’s affecting our most vulnerable residents,” said Ken Toll, President & CEO

of United Way of Jackson County.


“The new COVID-19 Response Fund will support broad-based efforts that lift up those

who are disproportionately impacted,” he said.


Check out the entire press release!

Big picture

Keep up to date with COVID-19 announcements

  • CDC.gov/coronavirus

  • Michigan.gov/coronavirus

  • mlive.com/coronavirus

  • Covid-19 Testing In Jackson County: The drive-thru testing at One Jackson Square is continuing To schedule an appointment at the HFAH COVID-19 Drive-Through Screening Station, call (517) 205-6100. History of travel is not/no longer a required criteria for testing.

K-12 Schools are for more than Education

"This is a necessary step to protect our kids, our families, and our overall public health,” Whitmer said.


"I know this will be a tough time, but we’re doing this to keep the most people we can safe. I urge everyone to make smart choices during this time and to do everything they can to protect themselves and their families.”

Check Out the Entire Article Here

Virtual Yoga and Mindfulness to Support Mental and Physical Health

Here is a link to a collection of kids yoga videos.

Meditation for Kids: Kids can meditate, too! Explore our free collection of meditations for children and teens. Designed for easing nerves, building self-confidence, and having a restful night’s sleep.

Yoga Videos for Teens/Adults

Meditations for Anxiety


Seven Ways to Find Grace and Alleviate Suffering During the COVID-19 Pandemic

Resources to Engage Kids During School Closures

What Can Teens Do During This Time?

Most Teens Don't of Jackson County is sharing 10 things everyday you can do during this time to stay healthy and active. Check out their list on facebook!

Most Teens Don't Facebook Page

Big picture

Contact the Whole Child Team!

Janelle Buchler: Whole Child Consultant (janelle.buchler@jcisd.org)

Eric Swihart: Whole Child Coordinator (eric.swihart@jcisd.org)

Caitlin Williams: Attendance and Homeless Program Coordinator (caitlin.williams@jcisd.org)

Rebecca Hurst: Behavior Health Project Coordinator (rebecca.hurst@jcisd.org)

Kelsea Jabkiewicz: Data Integration and Medicaid Cost Recovery Coordinator (kelsea.jabkiewicz@jcisd.org)

Angela Maddox: Whole Child Secretary (angela.maddox@jcisd.org)