The 3 Stages of Labor

By: Haley Starnes

First Stage:

The first stage is the dilation stage

- Cervix begin to dilate

- Vaginal discharge

- Contractions become more sever and closer

- The first stage ends when cervix has dilated to 4 centimeters

- False Labor or Braxton Hicks Contractions

- Longest stage of labor

Third Stage:

- The uterus begins to contract

- Placenta separates

- Caregiver will see signs of separation

- You will push lightly to deliver the placenta

- This is the shortest stage of labor