Points of Pride (Week of Oct. 1)

Alief ISD News and Recognitions

Congratulations to the 2018 Alief Idol Semi-Finalists!

Elementary Semi-Finalists:

  • David Morales (Horn Elementary School)
  • Xabia'n Esparza (Martin Elementary School)
  • Anjonell Woodley (Petrosky Elementary School)
  • Allyson Llano (Miller Intermediate School)
  • Zoe Brown (Owens Intermediate School)
  • Jada Strickland (Youngblood Intermediate School)

Secondary Semi-Finalists:

  • Egypt Hearn (Albright Middle School)
  • Glendys Valdes (Elsik Ninth Grade Center)
  • Jalen Clement (Hastings High School)
  • Brian Banh (Kerr High School)
  • Chayanne Cabrales (Kerr High School)
  • Brigid Ferris-Hughes (Taylor High School)

Alief Idol Semi-Final Round Concert

Thursday, Oct. 11th, 7pm

4410 Cook Road

Houston, TX

The semi-finals will be held in the Hastings High School Theater.

ABC 13's Game of the Week was Hastings vs Elsik.

As a part of the lead-up to Friday night's football game, ABC 13 showcased the Southwest Classic through multiple news stories, highlighting the longstanding rivalry between Hastings High School and Elsik High School.

Alief ISD high school choir students advance to UIL regional competitions.

Four Elsik students, two Hastings students, 10 Kerr students and three Taylor students competed at the Region 23 District Audition and have advanced to the regional competitions, which will be held on October 20.

Budewig Intermediate School selected as the recipient of the Alief ISD Tweens Read Bus Grant.

Budewig students will be able to attend the 8th annual Tweens Read Book Festival on October 13 at South Houston High School thanks in part to a generous donation from the Barbara Bush Foundation for Family Literacy. Students from Owens and Youngblood will also be attending the festival.

Alief ISD staff members received Guiding Star Awards from Parents for Public Schools.

Business and Community Partnership Coordinator Dee Jones received the President's Award from Parents for Public Schools during the ceremony at Rice University on September 27.

Other Alief ISD staff members that were recognized include:

  • Cummings Elementary School - Trang Chen, Jacqueline Butler, Angela Lightener, Sable Petry, Trushna Shah, Jennifer Evans and Jeanette H. Byrd
  • Mahanay Elementary School - Carmilla Nandlal
  • Olle Middle School - Samyka Leaston

Congratulations to the following Alief ISD staff members, whose DonorsChoose.org projects were funded!

Want to share a Points of Pride with the Alief ISD Public Relations Department?

Email your Points of Pride submission to Tracy Lau at tylau@aliefisd.net.

Upcoming District Events