Chapter 5.9

Multilingual States


The country of Belgium is speaks two different languages because cultural differences divided the country into two. The Flemings live in the north and speak Flemish, and the Walloons live in the south and speak French.


Switzerland has four official languages: German, French, Italian, and Romansh. The decision to have all of these languages were made by voter referendum.


Nigeria has 527 distinct languages. The groups living in different areas of Nigeria often battle.
Big image
Big image
Pokémon intro in 15 languages, with lyrics.
Top 10 Languages in the USA 2014