PCSD Student Support Services

A weekly dose of encouragement for students and families

Week of April 20th, 2020

The School Counselors and School Psychologists at PCSD recognize that this may be a time of stress, anxiety, and frustration for many in our community. We want you to know we are here to help you. Through this weekly newsletter, we hope to provide you with resources and encouragement to make the most of what we are dealing with.
Big picture
Super Fun Fun Run!

When a Child's Emotions Spike, How Can a Parent Find Their Best Self?

With families around the world spending unprecedented amounts of time in close quarters – and under varying degrees of stress – emotions can run high.

In good times and in hard times, parents can take steps to help their children strengthen their emotional competence. As parents, “we are co-creating the emotion system for our kids” says Dr. Marc Brackett, Director of the Yale Center for Emotional Intelligence and author of "Permission to Feel: Unlocking the Power of Emotions to Help Our Kids, Ourselves, and Our Society Thrive."


Read the complete article here:


https://www.kqed.org/mindshift/55708/when-a-childs-emotions-spike-how-can-a-parent-find-their-best-self?fbclid=IwAR1Y_V-jBMJ63tJxuR89PBDJS0kf_ygbyGY67rGKPfof6RiZOaELjNvw3DY

Big picture
5 Incredibly Fun GAMES to Teach Self-Regulation (Self-Control) | Early Childhood Development
Big picture
Big picture

Reach Out Anytime!

PHS:

Alan Feazelle - afeazelle@plattscsd.org

Amy Tisdale - atisdale@plattscsd.org

Rory LaPage - rlapage@plattscsd.org

Sunshine Quinn - squinn@plattscsd.org

James DeBella - jdebella@plattscsd.org


SMS:

Christina Santella - csantella@plattscsd.org

Grace Prue - gprue@plattscsd.org

Janet Hankins - jhankins@plattscsd.org

Kelly Bilow - kbilow@plattscsd.org


Momot:

Kelly Cooper - kcooper@plattscsd.org

Mindy Fay - mfay@plattscsd.org

Savannah Therrien - sdouglas@plattscsd.org

Tracie McCarthy - tmccarthy@plattscsd.org


Oak:

Garret McLean - gmclean@plattscsd.org

Kristy Clark - kclark@plattscsd.org


Bailey:

Tracey Giroux - tgiroux@plattscsd.org

Sheldon Cullen - scullen@plattscsd.org