Brittany Woods Broadcast

September 11, 2020

Message From the Principal

19 years ago, I was in the middle of a reading lesson when the teacher next door burst through the door, breathless and panicked announcing that the towers had been hit. I was confused and didn’t understand what he meant before I realized what he was saying. I remember that day vividly as teachers and students gathered around tv screens and watched horrified as the towers fell. As teachers we were stunned but worked to reassure our frightened kids and squelch our own anxiety and fears. Today we honor the memories of loved ones lost.

Wednesday U Time 1st Quarter

On Wednesdays, students are engaged in asynchronous learning and teachers are engaged in professional development and meetings during the morning. In the afternoons, from 12:30-3:00pm, teachers will be holding office hours to meet with students to answer any questions or reteach. Please email your teacher and let them know that you would like to make an appointment to meet with your teacher.

Grade Level Meetings, 9/23

Grade level principals and counselors will be holding meetings with teams on September 23rd. Please be on the lookout for an announcement from your grade level principal about your team meeting time. Parents are welcome to attend as well and the meetings will be recorded for anyone unable to attend.

Virtual Curriculum Night, 9/24

Our Curriculum Night this year will be virtual. On September 24th, BW will send a link to our event. You will have an opportunity to travel throughout the building to “meet” teachers and hear about their classes, expectations and overview for the year.

Library Newsletter

Online Tutoring Available

Free online tutoring is being offered by St. Louis County Library from 10 AM - 10 PM.


Tutor.com connects students in grades K-12 with live tutors in a safe and secure online classroom. Students can access academic tutoring, homework help and test prep assistance. Resources are also available for early college students, adult learners and job seekers. Anyone with a valid St. Louis County Library card can use tutor.com.

Live tutoring is available from 10:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. every day of the week. Students may also upload a document 24/7 to receive tutor feedback.

To get started, visit tutor.com and log in with your last name, library card number, and PIN.

This program is part of the Digital Equity Initiative, announced in July 2020 by St. Louis County Executive Dr. Sam Page.

Big picture

A Note from the Nurse

Hello Brittany Woods Middle School Families!


My name is Dena Bashiti and I will be your student’s new school nurse at Brittany Woods. I have been a school nurse for the past 12 years working with all ages and grade levels, but my favorite place has always been amongst middle school-aged children. They are rapidly growing and changing, and I understand the great challenges they are presented with emotionally and physically and how that can translate into the classroom. I will advocate for your student’s overall health and wellness, and assist them to understand the importance of the mind-body connection. University City is an amazing community and I am so excited to be a part of it! Please see the information below that is sent to all families in our District, with specific requirements for middle school-aged children:


The health care team of the School District of University City welcomes all new and returning families. We also would like to remind families of the importance of annual physicals and up-to-date immunization records. Vaccine preventable diseases have the potential to increase when the number of vaccinated children starts to decline. This puts our children at increased risk of catching these diseases. During a pandemic, it is best to be fully vaccinated to minimize the risk of becoming infected with preventable diseases.


Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services Bureau of Immunization, states requirements remain the same for 2020-2021 school year enrollments. All immunizations must be up-to-date before school enrollment. This also includes virtual enrollment because children who do not receive all of their vaccines are still at risk of being exposed to diseases.


Students entering 8th grade need a Tdap booster (Tetanus, Diphtheria and Pertussis) and at least one dose of MCV4 (Meningococcal) to meet the requirements. You can scan the updated immunization record directly to my email or fax to Brittany Woods, the number is listed above.


The health team is also recommending an annual flu vaccine for all children 6 months and older. Pediatric offices and clinics are open for physicals and vaccinations. Please make your appointment as soon as possible. If you do not have a private doctor, North County Community Health Center, 4000 Jennings Station Road has a walk-in immunization clinic Monday-Friday. The phone number is 314-615-9700. A flyer is located on the district website or Peach Jar.


If you have any additional questions, please do not hesitate to contact me. I look forward to meeting you and your students in the near future!


Stay Safe and Healthy,

Nurse Dena

Contact Information

Grace Lee, principal – glee@ucityschools.org

Pablo Flinn, 6th assistant principal – pflinn@ucityschools.org

Kellie Willis, 6th counselor – kwillis@ucityschools.org

Yvonne Rooks, 7th assistant principal – yrooks@ucityschools.org

Emily Bardot, 7th counselor – ebardot@ucityschools.org

Cate Pautsch, 8th assistant principal – cpautsch@ucityschools.org

Rashaad Davenport, 8th counselor – rdavenport@ucityschools.org

Stephani Hudson, SSD area coordinator – shudson@ucityschools.org

Allegra Grawer, school social worker – agrawer@ucityschools.org

Dena Bashiti, school nurse- dbashiti@ucityschools.org

Tech support- wo@ucityschools.org

Brittany Woods Main Office – 314-290-4280