Ellsworth MS Newsletter

Here's what's happening in MS this week!

February 4, 2019


Dear parents,


Your child will have winter NWEA testing beginning this week and will resume next week.


ENGLISH


7th Grade: We will spend this week trying to catch up from all of our snow days last week. The test over chapter 9 will be on Tuesday. NWEA testing for 7th grade will start on February 11th.


8th Grade: We will finally get back into The Outsiders this week. The chapter 9 test will take place on Tuesday and NWEA testing will begin on February 11th.


SOCIAL STUDIES


6th Grade: We have begun to learn about Ancient Greece with a look at the Greek alphabet. Students learned how to write their name in Greek. We will be exploring about the unique geography of the area and how they adapted to it. We will also be looking at how early city-states were organized.


7th Grade: We have begun to learn about Ancient Greece with a look at the Greek alphabet. Students learned how to write their name in Greek. We will be exploring about the unique geography of the area and how they adapted to it. We will also be looking at how early city-states were organized.


MATH


6th Grade: 6th graders will have a test on Monday covering converting between and within the customary and metric systems. We will begin our discussion on percents on Tuesday.


7th Grade: 7th graders will have a two-step inequality quiz on Monday. After the quiz on Monday, we will move on to study geometry with discussion on scale drawings and cross sections for the remainder of the week.


8th Grade: 8th graders will begin to solve systems of equations using the substitution method on Monday. We will practice this method for the remainder of the week. On Thursday and Friday, we will be testing NWEA for math.


SCIENCE

6th Grade: Students will need to wrap up their independent science investigations and turn in their results by Friday. We will be taking the Science NWEA on Tuesday.


7th Grade: We are continuing our study of Continental Drift Theory with some investigative lab stations as well as looking at the movie, Ice Age: Continental Drift, to analyze it for accuracy (and also to enjoy it!). We will be taking the Science NWEA on Tuesday.


8th Grade: We will have the willing to wait program on Monday and Tuesday of next week. On Wednesday, we will be doing the NWEA test. We will then continue studying the Geologic Time Scale including evidence for the types of life during the paleozoic, mesozoic, and cenozoic eras.


ART


8th Grade: We have finished our celebrity drawings and will be starting clay Monday! Creating containers made of clay.


SINCERELY,


The Middle School Team


7&8 English: Amanda Terryberry aterryberry@ellsworth.k12.mi.us

6&7th Sci, 6-7th SS: Sue Goslee sgoslee@ellsworth.k12.mi.us

6th ELA, 8th History Olivia Speicher ospeicher@ellsworth.k12.mi.us

6-8 Math: Erica Stuck estuck@ellsworth.k12.mi.us

8th Science: Clayton Faivor cfaivor@ellsworth.k12.mi.us

Art: Kurt Zimmerle kzimmerle@ellsworth.k12.mi.us

Music: Ashley Ford aford@ellsworth.k12.mi.us