Lynx MS News

AIS West - April 2021

Dear parents and students,


Welcome to Term 4! We are now in the home stretch. We have a few remaining days before a week off for Spring Break. Enjoy this time to relax, recharge and refocus for the final weeks of the school year.


Classes will continue with the Hybrid Learning schedule during the month of Ramadan. Class times will remain the same with a 1:30 - 1:50 staggered daily dismissal. Office hours will be reduced to 30 minutes every Sunday - Wednesday afternoon from 2:00 - 2:30.


Huge thanks to everyone who participated in the MSA survey we sent out last week. Your input is instrumental in brining positive, transformational change to AIS West. We greatly value your candid feedback.


On behalf of the entire AIS West family, we wish you a blessed holy month of Ramadan.


Your partners in education,

Mark Tennant

Secondary School Principal

mtennant@aiswest.com


Chelsea Armstrong

Middle School Assistant Principal

carmstrong@aiswest.com


Reham Sherif

Middle School Administrative Assistant

rsherif@aiswest.com

Big picture

Important Dates

March 28 - April 1 Cohort B On Campus

Cohort A At Home Learning


April 4 - April 8 - SPRING BREAK


April 11 - April 15 Cohort A On Campus

Cohort B At Home Learning


April 18 - April 22 Cohort B On Campus

Cohort A At Home Learning


April 25 - April 29 Cohort A On Campus

Cohort B At Home Learning

***April 25 is Sinai Liberation Day, which may be observed on a different date


May 2 - Easter Sunday - No School

May 3 - Sham El Nessim - No School


May 4 - May 6 Cohort B On Campus

Cohort A At Home Learning

*Student and Teacher of the Month* Risk Taker

Big picture

Student of the Month - Worthing Bailey

Worthing is a quiet, thoughtful listener who is always prepared to stretch her thinking and explore new ideas. Worthing takes risks by respectfully expressing her opinions and trying out new experiences.

Teacher of the Month - Andrea Clark

Andrea is always taking risks by trying out new teaching strategies to reach her students. She is an incredible mentor to the Middle School science team and has become a master teacher during her time at AIS.

Counselor's Corner

During the month of March we have been having Virtual Games Club for students and we are going to continue this into April so encourage your kids to join for light games and fun conversation every Sunday afternoon. During these final months students may be struggling with emotions and motivation, please encourage your kids to come to the counseling office at any time if they are need of support.
Big picture

Secondary School Library News!

The Secondary School Library is preparing for Ramadan after the Spring Break. Come see our books featured in the dome emphasizing Islam, Ramadan and Eid al Fitir. Also, Poetry is celebrated by the American Library Association in April. We are featuring biographies of Poets and their Poetry and many other wonderful books on poetry in the library as well.

What's Happening in Grade 6?

English 6 - Michaela Lucey - mlucey@aiswest.com - Gail Heard - gheard@aiswest.com

We are finishing up our novel Zahrah the Windseeker and will work to identify the literary elements and stages of the Hero's Journey in the text as we build our skills to analyze and discuss literature in the classroom.

Geography 6 - John Lawrence - jlawrence@aiswest.com - Abdelkader Chabi - achabi@aiswest.com

Students will investigate how people live in a desert region by reading and analyzing, "Life in the Sahara and the Sahel: Adapting to a Desert Region."

Math 6 - Vince Yung - vyung@aiswest.com - Michael Heard - mheard@aiswest.com

Students will solve one variable multi-step equations and connect one variable multi-step equations with real life situations.

Science 6 - Amanda Bailey - abailey@aiswest.com - Andrea Clark - aclark@aiswest.com

This month we will be beginning our Earth Science Unit on Rocks and Minerals and The Lunar Cycle.

Arabic 6 - Ahmed Khattab - akhattab@aiswest.com - Ali Mansour - amansour@aiswest.com

اللغة العربية: درس " في منتصف الطريق" قراءة. / درس "في رحاب الإنسانية " نصوص. / درس "إعراب الفعل المضارع " نحو.

AFL 6 - Mohamed Hassan - mhassan@aiswest.com

قراءة ( الترويح ) قواعد ( آسماء الاشارة والضمائر) تحدث واستماع ( قصة الرداء الذهبي ) الاملاء ( ال الشمسية والقمرية ).

Arabic SS 6 - Asmaa Mahmoud- amahmoud@aiswest.com

أولاً الجغرافيا: ١)خصائص سكان البيئة الصحراوية ( دراسة عاداتهم وتقاليدهم) ٢) الأنشطة الاقتصادية بالبيئة الصحراوية ( أهم وسائل تطوير البيئة الصحراوية ) ٣) تنمية البيئة الصحراوية وكيفية حل مشكلاتها. ثانياً التاريخ: ١) كفاح الشعب المصري ضد الاحتلال البريطاني ٢) ثورة ١٩١٩م (أسبابها ونتائجها)

French 6 - Edwina Nordquist - enordquist@aiswest.com

In French 6, students will continue to learn vocabulary and expressions on how to present themselves and others. In géoculture, we will continue to explore the French-speaking countries.

Spanish 6 - Dolores Rodriguez - drodriguez@aiswest.com

Students will learn to talk about the weather in Spanish and do research about the Semana Santa celebration.

Drama 6 - Ilonka Meier - imeier@aiswest.com

In Drama 6, students will rehearse for little skits and build a mini stage-design.

Technology 6 - Alejandro Corredor - acorredor@aiswest.com

Student's will finish building their sumo fighters robots and move towards learning how to enhance them using the ultrasonic and the touch sensor.

Physical Education 6 - Marty Perry, Katrina Wards, and Ron Thomson mperry@aiswest.com kwards@aiswest.com, and rthomson@aiswest.com

Students are completing their mid-year fitness testing. They will be able to compare their "Health Related Fitness" levels from the beginning of the year to now and reflect on if they are on pace to achieve their fitness goals.

Art 6 - Hannah Wilson - hwilson@aiswest.com

We are learning about Pop Art and creating our own Pop Art paintings.

Band 6 - Patricia Granter - pgranter@aiswest.com

What's Happening in Grade 7?

English 7 - Gail heard and Amira Nabhan - gheard@aiswest.com, anabhan@aiswest.com

This month students will learn about Dystopian Fiction, and read The Giver. They will practice using annotation to find evidence to use in literary analysis and continue to hone their writing skills with Caught Ya practice.

Math 7 - Michael Heard and Amira Elsherif mheard@aiswest.com, aelsherif@aiswest.com

Students in grade 7 will begin to explore the use of variables to represent unknown quantities. We will also learn to evaluate expressions using a few simple rules.

Science 7 - Andrea Clark & Yara Elshorafa aclark@aiswest.com, yelshorafa@aiswest.com

This month we will be beginning our Earth Science Unit: Rocks and Minerals and The Lunar Cycle

History 7 - Abdelkader Chabi and Daniel McCarville - achabi@aiswest.com, dmccarville@aiswest.com

This month students will explore the classical Greek civilization from its geography to its government, along with the various events that marked history.

Arabic 7 - Sahar Mahmoud - smahmoud@aiswest.com

مهارة القراءة والتذوق اللغوي : حديث "من أعمال الخير " ، ونص "التعاون"،- نحو: "الفعل المتعدي"، - مهارة الكتابة: درس "من قصص القرآن" و قاعدة الهمزة المتوسطة

Drama 7 - Ilonka Meier - imeier@aiswest.com

In Drama 7. students will rehearse a little skit and build a mini stage-design.

French 7 -Edwina Nordquist- enordquist@aiswest.com

In French 7, students will continue to learn about describing people in the family by using the verb avoir and descriptive adjectives.

Spanish 7 - Dolores Rodriguez - drodriguez@aiswest.com

The student will learn to talk about classroom objects, places in school and adjectives to express how the student feels.

AFL 7 - Mohamed Hassan - mhassan@aiswest.com

قراءة ( ابو قير وابو صير ) قواعد ( اركان الجملة الاسمية الفعلية) تحدث واستماع ( قصة شرق الشمس وغرب القمر ) الاملاء ( علامات الترقيم ).

Technology 7 - Alejandro Corredor - acorredor@aiswest.com

During this month student's will have to present their first one level game prototype made in Arcade Makecode. Later, we'll be working on the principles of level design.

Art 7 - Hannah Wilson - hwilson@aiswest.com

We are learning how to create compositions and how to paint in a controlled neat manner.

Band - Patricia Granter - pgranter@aiswest.com

Dance 7 - Lina Rodriguez - lrodriguez@aiswest.com

We are exploring the wonderful dance cultures in Asia.

Arabic Social Studies 7 - Mohamed Ahmed - mahmed@aiswest.com

Physical Education 7 - Anders Nordquist - anordquist@aiswest.com

Students are completing their mid-year fitness testing. They will be able to compare their "Health Related Fitness" levels from the beginning of the year to now and reflect on if they are on pace to achieve their fitness goals.

What's Happening in Grade 8?

English 8 - Hadear Hassan & Amira Nabhan - hhassan@aiswest.com, anabhan@aiswest.com

This month, students will revisit poetry, and learn about sonnets as an introduction to Shakespeare. Then, they will start reading Much Ado About Nothing by William Shakespeare.

Math 8 - Amira Elsherif & Laila Elfakharany -aelsherif@aiswest.com, lelfakharany@aiswest.com

This Month, we will continue working with coordinate geometry. Using table of values, 2 points, and a point and a slope to graph a line. We will also work with the slope- intercept form equation to graph a function.

History 8 - Daniel MacCarville - dmaccarville@aiswest.com - Hadear Hassan - hhassan@aiswest.com

8th grade students have been studying Martin Luther and the Protestant Reformation. Next for them is the response by the Roman Catholic Church to all of these reformers, which is known as The Counter Reformation.

Science 8 - Yara Elshorafa & Dina Sonbol - yelshorafa@aiswest.com, dsonbol@aiswest.com

In April, we will begin our last unit which covers motion. Students will learn to differentiate between speed, velocity, and acceleration. There will be a focus on drawing and interpreting graphs. Also, we will be introduced to Newton's Laws of Motion.

Spanish 8 - Dolores Rodriguez - drodriguez@aiswest.com

Students will learn to talk about places to go in town, means of transportation and ordering a meal in a restaurant.

French 8 - Edwina Nordquist - enordquist@aiswest.com

Students will continue to learn French phonetics to help them read and comprehend texts in French. In géoculture, we will explore the l'Ouest de la France.

Technology 8 - Alejandro Corredor - acorredor@aiswest.com

Student's have already mastered the coordinate system and how to use it to draw with programming. During this month, students will learn how to make more interactive programs with the use of variables and conditions.

AFL 8 - Mohamed Hassan - mhassan@aiswest.com

قراءة ( الترويح ) قواعد ( آسماء الاشارة والضمائر) تحدث واستماع ( قصة الرداء الذهبي ) الاملاء ( ال الشمسية والقمرية ).

Arabic 8 - Salah Moaty & Aly Mansour - smoaty@aiswest.com, amansour@aiswest.com

اللغة العربية: نص الفلاح - اختراعات عربية - العلم واجب - المجرد والمزيد. التربية الإسلامية: عمارة الأرض والإنسان والحيوان.

Arabic Social Studies 8 - Mahmoud Sharkawy- msharkawy@aiswest.com

الجغرافيا : الثروة الحيوانية والسمكية في وطننا العربي - المعادن ومصادر الطاقة // التاريخ : الدولة الفاطمية + الدولة الأيوبية + دولة المماليك

Art 8 - Hannah Wilson - hwilson@aiswest.com

We are learning how to create compositions and how to paint in a controlled neat manner.

Dance 8 - Lina Rodriguez - lrodriguez@aiswest.com

We are learning about folk dances and traditions.

Drama 8 - Ilonka Meier - imeier@aiswest.com

In Drama 8, students will rehearse a little skit and build a mini stage-design.

Physical Education 8 - Marty Perry, Katrina Wards, and Anders Nordquist mperry@aiswest.com, kwards@aiswest.com, and anordquist@aiswest.com

Students are completing their mid-year fitness testing. They will be able to compare their "Health Related Fitness" levels from the beginning of the year to now and reflect on if they are on pace to achieve their fitness goals.

Band - Patricia Granter - pgranter@aiswest.com

AIS West Middle School

Follow us on Instagram @aise_west_middleschool