2017 IASL Award Winners


Big image

IASL Distinguished Advocate Award

Today we get to honor Mr. Brian Sammons, principal at Grundy Center Elementary, with the Distinguished Advocate Award from the Iowa Association of School Librarians. The purpose of this award is to honor those who, through individual leadership and sustained effort have made worthy contributions to the concept of effective school library programs, along with helping support a strong and meaningful library program.

Your dedication and continual support for school libraries is commendable and we are excited to honor you as the 2017 IASL Distinguished Advocate recipient!

Big image

IASL Outstanding Library Program Award

The OLPA is designed to recognized school librarians from all levels and the important work they showcase.

Recipients must complete a checklist with requirements from four categories:

1. Teaching and Learning

2. Library Management

3. Qualifications of Staff

4. Administrative Support.

Recipients also must express the vision for their library program and relationship with their school, 4 proud library moments from the past 2 years, and explain how their work in the library impacts student learning.

This year we get to recognize five dedicated librarians from four deserving libraries.

Elizabeth Schau and Chelsea Sims from South East Junior High, Iowa City

Sarah Latcham - James Van Allen Elementary, Iowa City

Kathleen Locher - Lincoln Elementary, Iowa City

Mary Priske - Penn Elementary, Iowa City

Iowa Association of School Librarians

For more information about IASL awards visit our website!