STAAR Resources

English I and English II

STAAR EOC Test Schematic

The STAAR EOC tests have undergone many changes since their introduction in 2012. They have gone from 12 tests to 5 tests overall and ELA has changed from 2 tests (reading and writing) to 1 test where both areas are combined. This is a timed test where students are given 5 hours to complete. Both ELA EOC assessments are attached to graduation for students. Students have fall, spring and summer administrations of the assessment to retest if they are not successful. The accountability standards have changed as the years have progressed as well. The legislation that created this new testing format also created phase-in levels that change the satisfactory score. This year the phase-in level has moved up to phase 2.

Navigation of the Resources

TEA's website has resources available for you.

Secondary ELA - Teaching & Learning

Check out our website for other information and resources available to you!