Library News

Ockerman Elementary Library

The Newbery Medal Winner and Honor Books

The Newbery award is "given for the most outstanding contribution to children's literature. The book chosen for the Newbery Medal winner was a little surprising. The committee chose, Last Stop on Market Street, by Matt De La Pena. While most Newbery winners are novels, this medal winner is a picture book. Many people were disappointed, I think the book was an excellent choice! It meets all the requirements and is an excellent example of "distinguished" writing! It is also a Caldecott Honor book and it is nominated for the Kentucky Bluegrass award. We do have one copy of this book in the library.
Big image

Newbery Honor Books

Caledcott Medal Winner and Honor books

The Caldecott Medal is given for the "most distinguished picture book for children" and is awarded to the illustrator. This year's winner is Finding Winnie: The true story of the world's most famous bear, illustrated by Sophie Blackall and written by Lindsay Mattick.

This the story behind Christopher Robin's best friend, Winnie the Pooh! Apparently there was a real bear named, Winnie.......who knew! I can't wait to read this one! We will add the book to our library as soon as possible.

There were 4 Caldecott honor books this year! Three of the honor books are displayed below. The fourth honor books is, Last Stop on Market Street, which was discussed above.

Big image

Caldecott Honor Books

If you would like to see all the award winning books you can check out the award ceremony or view the list award winning books, including the, Theodor Seuss Geisel Award and the Coretta Scott King Awards.

40 Book Challenge

Please don't forget about the 40 book challenge. Please display your 40 book challenge chart either inside your classroom or outside your classroom door so they are visible. My chart is on display in the front hall library window. Finally, don't forget to check out the hashtag #ockermanreads when you are on twitter. The first person to respond to my question under this hashtag will receive a prize!