Celebrating Religious Divesity

Aspects of Religion

Eight Dimensions of Religion

  • Beliefs, our understanding of how the world operates. What we follow or regard as truthful from our religion.
  • Sacred stories, myths, traditions and other readings which are passed on regarding how to live life.
  • Religious experience, an individuals connection with the unseen or significant others.
  • Religious ritual, traditional itinerary, day to day procedure involving prayer and worship.
  • Social structure, sacred spaces, sacred events and sacred people, significant to the religion.
  • Sacred text, sacred writings and text, important letters and documents.
  • Religious ethics, approved moral conduct.
  • Sacred symbols, important images or objects, significant to the religion.

Compare and Contrast

Catholicism and Judaism

Christianity and Judaism have a close relationship. Jesus, the twelve disciples and members of the earliest catholic church were all Jews. Jesus' family followed Jewish customs and Jesus often quoted the Hebrew bible. Follows of Jesus referred to him as the messiah, a Jewish figure predicted in the Jewish bible.
Christianity and Judaism were both founded in Palestine, Christianity being founded long after Judaism. The Catholic church uses a bible containing a new testament and old testament (Jewish Bible), the Jewish society follow their bible which is know as the Tanakh. Both Christianity and Judaism believe in one God, Jehovah and the God of Abraham. While the two religions have different views on the life of Jesus, they can both agree that Jesus' death was by crucifixion. Catholics see Jesus as the Son of God, God incarnate and the savior of the world, while people under the Jewish religion see Jesus as a false Prophet.
The Catholic church have several sacred places of worship being churches, chapels, cathedrals, basilicas and meeting halls. Jewish houses of worship are a synagogue, temple and schu. In the Catholic religion there are many different levels of leaders, with the pope at the top and priest being the lowest form with 7 other levels between. In the Jewish tradition there is only 2 different types of leaders being rabbi and rebbe.
While there are many similarities between the two religions they hold different symbols, rituals and major holidays or events. Catholics believe that Judaism is a true religion, but with incomplete revelation. While the Jewish believe Christianity is a false interpretation of Judaism.

The Ecumenical Movement

Ecumenical: the principle or aim of promoting unity among the world's Christian Churches.
The main aim of the Ecumenical Movement is to bring churches of all denominations and all other religious organisations together as one Ecumenical Church. The motto adopted by the movement is "One World - One Church." One of the major issues that the movement wants to fix is the relationship between the churches and other organisations of all other religions. The Ecumenical movement began in 1948.

Vatican II

The Vatican II council was called by Pope Paul XXIII in 1962.
Its announced purpose was spiritual renewal of the church and reconsideration of the position of the church in the modern world. The most spectacular innovation of the council was the invitation extended to Protestant and Orthodox Eastern churches to send representatives to the meetings. Another obvious feature was the diversity of national and cultural origins shown among those who attended from all over the world.
Vatican II has brought many changes to the church, making it so important. The church has changed many things such as communion being given in the hands, women may enter the church without a head covering, the priest faces the congregation, the service was given in the local language. Vatican II had many other other changes to.