By Eric Wright & Jose Narcia

What is a Tundra?

A Tundra is one of the 8 biomes, it is frozen most of the year. In a Tundra, vegetation growth is limited dwarf shrubs, sedges, grasses, mosses and lichens. There are 3 types of Tundra, Arctic, Antarctic, and Alpine.

Arctic tundras are located in the far Northern Hemisphere. They contain areas of frozen landscape that remains frozen for most of the year. The subsoil is almost always frozen which makes it impossible for trees to go. There are two main seasons in this tundra, Summer and Winter. In the Winter it is very cold and dark. During the Summer the Tundra is filled with marshes and bogs.

Antarctic Tundras are located mainly in Antarctica. The Antarctic tundra is mostly cold and dry which is why it cannot support vegetation. Most of this tundra is covered in ice.

The Alpine Tundra does not have trees because of the climate and the high altitude. Alpine Tundras occur in mountains worldwide. Most of the cold weather is caused by low air temperatures.

Animals of the Tundra

Animals of the Tundra have special adaptions to allow them to survive the cold weather. During the colder seasons, most of the animals will migrate to avoid the extreme weather conditions.