School Board Notes

May 2021

Meetings in Review

The Board of School Directors recognized 23 retirees who have given a combined 542 years of service to the students, staff and community of the Methacton School District. It is with tremendous gratitude that we give thanks to these important contributors to the Pride of Methacton: Lori Andrews, Mary Ellen Barbuto, Chris Boyle, Gail Brown, Francis Buno, Patricia Gavanus, Bernadette Grib, Carl "Butch" Langheim, Nancy Leneweaver, Mary Mandia, Dianne Maylen, Patricia McGinnis, Robert McNally, Ralph Murgia, Jill Nickerson, Kathleen O'Connell, Linda Phipps, Diane Seeberger, Michele Sinnott, Janice Stickley, Barbara Vallerio, Bruce Vogel, and Linda Wilkinson. We wish everyone the very best as they embark on new chapters of their lives.

Big picture
District Appointments

Dr. Jamie Gravinese was appointed to serve as Methacton High School principal after serving in a number of roles during her 16 years with Methacton School District. She has previously served as a supervisor of secondary special education, high school assistant principal and, most recently, as interim High School principal.

The Board has also approved the employment of Mr. William Brannick as Director of Technology for the Methacton School District. Mr. Brannick currently serves as the Director of Technology for the Archdiocese of Philadelphia. He has previously served as a high school principal, assistant principal and business/technology teacher within the Archdiocese.

Employment Contracts

The Board approved the employment contracts and compensation plans for the Teamsters, Confidential/Exempt employees and the Act 93 employees. These plans cover custodians, maintenance, technology and administrative employees with average salary increases of 2.5%, changes in employee contribution to benefits, and several language changes.

Other items listed in the May 25, 2021 agenda were approved.

Class of 2021 "M" Awards

We are proud of the achievements of all our students. This year, 156 members of the Class of 2021 have earned M Awards for academic excellence. Our student Board Representatives, Serena Goodridge and Chris Spletzer, are among them. These members of the Class of 2021 will receive an M Award in their graduation packet for achieving a 93% or greater grade point average for the 2020-2021 school year. Following graduation, these students will attend various higher education institutions such as Yale, Princeton, Brown, the University of Pennsylvania, Penn State, Drexel and Temple --- or plan to serve our country in the military. Congratulations to these M Award recipients and to the entire class of 2021!

Award of Excellence

Methacton’s Award of Excellence honorees for May 2021 represent Aramark and First Student. They are: Vera Uhrich, Arrowhead Cafeteria Manager; Tina Cusamano, Woodland Cafeteria Manager; Maria Szam, Food Service Worker; James Prendergrast, Bus Driver; Steve Arnawoodian, Driver Trainer & Bus Driver; and Art Dorri, AM Dispatcher.

All of these outstanding staff members provide support for students, staff, and our community. They are valuable team members and we are pleased to share with everyone how much we appreciate their commitment to the students of the Methacton School District.

Full Day Kindergarten

Dr. Zerbe stated that he will be placing on the June agenda for the Board of School Directors' consideration the establishment of a full day kindergarten program with the start of the 2022-2023 school year. Dr. Deb Euker provided a summary update for the Board at the working session that outlines the journey taken towards a final decision, the value propositions for various stakeholder groups, the instructional schedule, associated finances and timeline.

Arrowhead Construction

On a monthly basis, we will be providing updates on the construction project for the new Arrowhead Elementary School on the district’s website:

May 25, 2021 Regular Board Meeting

May 25 2021 Regular Meeting of the Board

May 19, 2021 Special Meeting of the Board and Work Session Meeting of the Board

May 19 2021 - Special Meeting and Work Session Meeting of the Board

Board Notes

The Methacton School District's Board of School Directors meets each month. School board work session meetings are generally held on the third Tuesday of the month, followed by the regular meeting on the fourth Tuesday (except during the month of December). Regular Board and work session meetings typically take place in the MHS LGI, and all residents are invited to attend. Committee meetings may take place in the Board Room at the Farina Center, or the MHS LGI. During the COVID-19 pandemic, meetings will be held virtually. Meeting agendas are posted to agenda manager, and start times and locations are posted on the District's website. Please confirm meeting time and location before attending. Download the meeting calendar here. Watch the meeting video online.