Executive Branch

The President of the United States enforces the nations laws

Executive Branch

The Executive branch is in charge of creating the laws that are written by the Legislative branch. This branch is headed by the president of the united states. There are 15 cabinet secretaries. The president has the power to veto, pardon criminals, appointed ambassadors and federal judges. There are only 2 nationally elected public officials in the Executive branch, the president and vice president.

The President (Obama)

The president must be 35 years old, natural-born citizen, and have lived in the US at least 14 years. The president cannot serve more than two terms. If a president dies, resigns, is disable or removed from office, the vice president assumes the office. The presidents yearly salary is $400,000. The president has two roles the chief executive of the federal government and Commander in Chief of the armed forces.

The Vice President (Joe Biden)

The vice president of the united states has only four duties.

1) He presides over the Senate

2) In the special case of a tie vote in the Senate, the vice president is permitted to break the tie by casing the deciding vote

3) The current vice president as the presiding official, he watches to make sure the voting is done and counted properly.

4) Be ready to step in and act as president whether on a temporary or permanent basis if president is resign, disable, or dies.

The Cabinet (15 executive departments)

The Cabinet has 15 different appartments. Each departement has someone in charge of the department.

Below explains each individual department (from whitehouse.gov)

Department of Agriculture-The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) develops and executes policy on farming, agriculture, and food.

Department of Commerce-the government agency tasked with improving living standards for all Americans by promoting economic development and technological innovation.

Department of Defense-The mission of the Department of Defense (DOD) is to provide the military forces needed to deter war and to protect the security of our country.

Department of Education-The mission of the Department of Education is to promote student achievement and preparation for competition in a global economy by fostering educational excellence and ensuring equal access to educational opportunity.

Department of Energy-The mission of the Department of Energy (DOE) is to advance the national, economic, and energy security of the United States.

Department of Health and Human Services-The Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) is the United States government's principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans and providing essential human services, especially for those who are least able to help themselves.

Department of Homeland Security-The missions of the Department of Homeland Security are to prevent and disrupt terrorist attacks; protect the American people, our critical infrastructure, and key resources; and respond to and recover from incidents that do occur.

Department of Housing and Urban Development-The Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) is the federal agency responsible for national policies and programs that address America's housing needs, that improve and develop the nation's communities, and that enforce fair housing laws.

Department of the Interior-The Department of the Interior (DOI) is the nation's principal conservation agency.

Department of Justice-The mission of the Department of Justice (DOJ) is to enforce the law and defend the interests of the United States according to the law; to ensure public safety against threats foreign and domestic; to provide federal leadership in preventing and controlling crime; to seek just punishment for those guilty of unlawful behavior; and to ensure fair and impartial administration of justice for all Americans.

Department of Labor-The Department of Labor oversees federal programs for ensuring a strong American workforce.

Department of State-The Department of State plays the lead role in developing and implementing the President's foreign policy.

Department of Transportation-The mission of the Department of Transportation (DOT) is to ensure a fast, safe, efficient, accessible and convenient transportation system that meets our vital national interests and enhances the quality of life of the American people.

Department of Treasury-The Department of the Treasury is responsible for promoting economic prosperity and ensuring the soundness and security of the U.S. and international financial systems.

Department of Veterans Affairs-The Department of Veterans Affairs is responsible for administering benefit programs for veterans, their families, and their survivors.