News & Views

Morris County School Media Association

Letter from the President


Seasons Greetings Everyone,

Welcome to a new decade. I hope you all had a wonderful holiday season filled with good food, time with friends and family as well as some time to relax, unplug and recharge. I am looking forward to some of the amazing innovations a new decade will bring.

If you are looking for a new way to engage your classes try Goosechase ( It is a web-based app. that allows you to create an online scavenger hunt. I used it with my students as a technical and interactive scavenger hunt in the library and around the school building. You can create activities across content areas as well. Students can answer questions, take photos, record videos and explore their community.

It was a pleasure seeing so many of you all at the NJASL fall conference. I hope more of you can join us for our upcoming Best Books for Elementary and Best Books for Middle/High School presentations at the Parsippany Public Library on January 15 (snow 1/22).

Looking forward to seeing you all soon,

Tara Collins President, MCSMA

Best Books of 2019

Wednesday, Jan. 15th, 4-6pm

449 Halsey Road

Parsippany-Troy Hills, NJ

The Children's and Teen staff of the Parsippany-Troy Hills Public Library System will share their picks for the top books from the past year. We will have two concurrent sessions, one focusing on books for students in grades K-5, and one focusing on books for students in middle school and high school.

Join us for refreshments and socializing at 4:00pm. The presentations will begin at 4:30pm. This event is free for members and $10.00 for non-members. In the event of inclement weather, please call the library at 973-887-5150 for closing information.

The snow date for this event is January 22.

Morris County School Media Association Membership Application

Please complete this form and bring it to the next meeting with a check for $15 or mail to: Roxana Caivano

Roxbury High School

1 Bryant Drive

Succasunna NJ 07876

Date _________

Name: _________________________

School/Address: __________________________

Grade Level: _____________________

District: _________________________________ Private _______

School Phone: _____________ School Fax: _______________

School E-Mail Address: _______________________________________

School Web Site Address: __________________________

Home Address: _______________________________


Home Phone: ___________________________

Alternate/Personal E-mail ____________________

2019-2020 Executive Board Officers

President: Tara Collins

Vice-President: Steve Cullis

Corresponding Secretary: Vera Borum

Recording Secretary: Susan Ploch

Treasurer: Nancy Bosch