South San Antonio ISD

Counseling Department

STAY CONNECTED TO YOUR COUNSELOR

South San Antonio is closely monitoring the evolving news about COVID-19. We want parents to know that South San ISD counselors are committed to staying in touch with our students during this difficult time. Below you will find your school counselors information as well as other support services available to our community.


If your child has an educational or academic question please email the school counselor. For serious or delicate matters contact our CARE Zone, Monday-Friday from 8 AM- 5 PM, at 210-965-2692 or via email at carezone@southsandisd.net. Students can also call our District Hotline at 210-977-7000. For emergencies please call 911.

ELEMENTARY COUNSELORS

Elementary guidance lessons are included in the instructional packets that are being distributed at the campuses.


Armstrong ES

Valerie Dykes

vdykes@southsanisd.net


Athens ES

Patricia Lopez

plopez@southsanisd.net


Benavidez ES

Diana Pacheco

diana.pacheco@southsanisd.net


Carrillo ES

Charlie Gallardo

cgallardo@southsanisd.net


Five Palms

Claudia Gutierrez

cgutierrez@southsanisd.net


Hutchins ES

Mary Aguirre

mary.aguirre@southsanisd.net


Kindred ES

Norma Gomez

norma.gomez@southsanisd.net


Madla ES

Leonor Delgado

ldelgado@southsanisd.net


Palo Alto ES

Ana Flores

aflores@southsanisd.net


Price ES

Ruby Lopez

rlopez@southsanisd.net

Middle School Counselors

Middle school counselors have created google classroom lessons for your students. They will be receiving an email from them in the near future. If you have questions or if you have other needs please contact your counselor.


Dwight MS

Jesse Lopez

jesse.lopez@southsanisd.net


Kazen MS

Anna Lisa Sanchez

alsanchez@southsanisd.net


Shepard MS

Maria Spain

mspain@southsanisd.net


Zamora MS

Gabriel Torres

gtorres@southsanisd.net

High School Counselors

High school counselors are reaching out to students via google classroom where they are sharing information. Please email your counselor if you have questions or if you have other needs.


A-Ch

John Davila (Lead Counselor)

jdavila@southsanisd.net


Ci-Gon

Elias Portillo

elias.portillo@southsanisd.net


Gom-Mc

Debra Martinez

dmartinez1@southsanisd.net


Me-Roj

Barbara Izarraraz

bizarraraz@southsanisd.net


Rom-Z

Betty Iredale

biredale@southsanisd.net


Early College High School

Anna Ramirez

aneavez@southsanisd.net


At Risk

Rosana Espadas

rosana.espadas@southsanisd.net

Early College High School

If you have questions about the Early College Program please contact:

Anna Ramirez (Counselor)

aneavez@southsanisd.net


Israel Rios (Director)

israel.rios@southsanisd.net

southsanisd.net/domain/1417

College Resources

If you have questions about college applications, financial aid, scholarships, senior TSI testing, or AP Testing please contact:

Angelica Melendez

anmelendez@southsanisd.net

southsanisd.net/domain/1470

Click on the link for

college-advising-appointments


If you have questions about dual credit or TSI testing please contact:

Patricia Hernandez

pahernandez@southsanisd.net

southsanisd.net/Page/7498

Middle School Academies

If you have questions about the choice academies please contact:

Bobbye Schanen Hylton (Director)

bschanen@southsanisd.net

southsanisd.net/Domain/1989

Mental Health Resources and Help Lines

Center for Health Care Services

210-223-7233

https://chcsbc.org/get-help/childrens-services/


Clarity Child Guidance Center

1-877-676-5437

https://www.claritycgc.org/


Jewish Family Service San Antonio

210-302-6920

https://jfs-sa.org/


Family Service

210-299-2400

https://family-service.org/


Rise Recovery

210-227-2634

https://www.riserecovery.org/


South San Antonio CARE Zone

https://www.southsanisd.net/Page/7921


National Suicide Prevention Lifeline

1-800-273-8255


Texas Abuse Hotline

https://www.txabusehotline.org/Login/Default.aspx

1-800-252-5400


211.org

Dial 211 for crisis and emergency, essential needs, assistance


San Antonio Resource Directory

http://sacrd.org/directory/


SA Food Bank

safoodbank.org/

210-337-3663

South San Antonio ISD Helpful Links

South San Antonio ISD Counseling Department

https://www.southsanisd.net/domain/1765


Communities in Schools

https://www.cissa.org/


District Police

210-977-7500

https://www.southsanisd.net/domain/43