CLUBS FOR OVCA MIDDLE SCHOOL

School Year 2021/2022

OVCA Middle School Local Clubs provide social connections with students throughout the state.

Local clubs will be offered on a variety of topics through engaging online club sessions. Keep checking back for updates on our club offerings and consider joining an online club today.

-------------

Art Club

Meetings:

Fridays @ 1:00pm

Begins: September 3rd


Staff POC:

Jordan Fryhover

jfryhover@okvirtual.org


Welcome to Art Club. This club is for anyone who has a passion for Art. No experience or skill set necessary. We will learn about different Art techniques as well as learning to draw from each other.

Anime Muso-ka Kurabu (Anime Dreamer Club)

Meetings:

1st and 3rd Tuesday of every month @ 2:30pm

Begins: September 7th


Staff POCs:

DeNaeDandridge

ddandridge@okvirtual.org



Mission: Let’s bond over our shared love of anime while exploring characters, themes, music, and drawing styles. We will also reflect on Japanese culture, language, clothing, and food. Costumes encouraged at each meeting! We will create our own club mascot based on anime favorites. Bring your ideas and positive energy!

Chi Alpha Mu

Meetings:

Last Friday of every month @ 12:30pm

Begins: September 24th


Sign Up Cut Off Date: Sept 10th


Staff POC:

Theresa Thompson

tthompson@okvirtual.org


This is a nationally recognized math club.

Creates Craft Club - Middle School

Meetings:

2nd Friday of every month @ 12:30pm-1:15pm

Begins: September 10th


Staff POCs:

Elizabeth Britt

ebritt@okvirtual.org

Kim Evans

kievans@k12.com


This club is for OVCA Middle School only.

Disney Club

Meetings:

Last Friday of every month @ 3:00pm

Begins: September 17th


Staff POC:

Jordan Fryhover

jfryhover@okvirtual.org


Disney Club is for everyone who loves all things Disney. We will hangout once a month and play games, attend virtual tours, and get to know a little more about the secrets of Disney.

Drama/Theater Club

Meetings:

Every other Thursday @ 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Begins: September 9th


Staff POCs:

Brittni Joines

bjoines@okvirtual.org


Brittney Freeman

bfreeman@okvirtual.org


This is going to be a great way for students to showcase their acting skills. We plan to record the students or have them submit videos. We will put them all together and recreate a movie scene of their choice so they can have a copy of their mini-movie starring themselves and their peers.

Kahoot & Escape Room Club - Middle School & High School

Meetings:

Every 3rd Thursday of the month @ 3:00pm - 3:45pm

Begins: September 16th


Staff POCs:

Sonia Gaytan

sgaytan@okvirtual.org


Dawn Waite

dwaite@okvirtual.org


This club is for 6th - 12th grade. We will play Kahoot or have an Escape Room

Lego Club

Meetings:

Every other Wednesday @ 2:30pm to 3:15pm

Begins: September 8th


Staff POC:

Rebecca Pittman

rpittman@okvirtual.org


Robin Garner

rgarner@okvirutal.org


This is a k-12th grade club. Students can share their Lego creations while learning from others on new ideas. We will have a theme each month to guide new creations.

OV8CAR Club

Meetings:

1st and 3rd Friday of every month @ 11am

Begins: August 20th


Staff POCs:

Kami Clark

kclark@okvirtual.org


Nancy Johnson

njohnson@okvirtual.org


Each meeting we will talk about a different brand/style/country of origin car, learn about different car repairs, talk about community auto events, etc.

OVCA Rock Club

Meetings:

1st and 3rd Wednesday's of the month @ 3pm

Begins: September 1st


Staff POC:

Amanda Noreuil-Pendelton

anoreuil@okvirtual.org


This club is for 4th, 5th, & 6th grades. (Other grades upon request)

*Outdoor, in-person days are pending approval and will be announced in advance if possible.*

Photogaphy Club - Middle School

Meetings:

Once a month @ 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Begins: September 8th


Staff POCs:


Brittni Joines

bjoines@okvirtual.org


Britney Lathrom

blathrom@okvirtual.org



This is a great place for our students to showcase their photography skills within the given theme each week and collaborate with one another or techniques they have used for their art.

Pop Culture Club

Meetings:

First Friday of Each Month @ 12:00pm - 12:30pm

Begins: October 1st


Staff POC:

Mary Crow

mcrow@okvirtual.org


Pop Culture Club is a club for people interested in movies, video games and basically all of the fun stuff in life. We do kahoots, quizizz, and learn new facts about the subject were talking about along with tons of other fun things.

Project Rainbow Connection Club (PRCC)

Meetings:

Every Friday from 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Begins: September 3rd


Staff POC:

Jennifer Sabedra

jsabedra@okvirtual.org


Grades 6-8 Middle School

A safe space for our LGBTQIA+ students to gather where they are loved and accepted. Have time for them to socialize and discuss different issues and ideas. Time to listen and provide them with a caring and supportive adult.There will also be other staff at meetings to help monitor the chat.

Roblox Club

Meetings:

1st Friday of Every Month @ 3pm

Begins: September 3rd


Staff POCs:

Amanda Noreuil

anoreuil@okvirtual.org


Sharity Watts

swatts@okvirtual.org


De'Erica Slayden

dslayden@okvirtual.org


Club participants will be invited to session where student host will share screen and joining code chat will be monitored through screen share and students can discuss their Roblox creations throughout session on mic if the wish. Students will not share any personal information.

* Possible opportunity for students to meet up in person once a quarter at local coffee shop/library/ community center if it is safe to do so

Virtual World Tours Club

Meetings:

Every other Wednesday @ 3:00pm - 4:00 pm

Begins: September 1st


Staff POCs:

Brittni Joines

bjoines@okvirtual.org


Britney Lathrom

blathrom@okvirtual.org


This club is for OVCA Middle School students only.

We will have a fun *surprise* twist on our Virtual “World” Tours Club this year…) We are going to be traveling virtually all over the universe this year! Not just the world!