Cougar Corner

Friday, October 14, 2022

Upcoming Dates

Friday, October 14

  • End of Quarter 1

Monday, October 17

  • AR Assemblies
  • Pokemon Club Starts M 3:45pm to 4:30pm

Friday, October 21

  • Chess Club Starts
  • Picture Retakes

Saturday, October 29 –Halloween Family Event 2pm to 4:30pm

Monday, October 31 – Parent Teacher Conferences – No School

Tuesday, November 1 - PTO Meeting at 4pm in the Library

Friday, October 14 – End of Quarter 1

Friday, October 21 – Report Card and Assessment Data Go Home

Monday, October 31 – Parent Teacher Conferences – No School

Thursday, November 10- After School Movie

Friday, November 11 – District PD Day – No School

Saturday, November 12 – Boys Basketball Jamboree at WMS

Saturday, November 19 – Girls Basketball Jamboree at TMS

Thursday, November 24 & Friday, November 25 – Thanksgiving - No School

Thursday, December 1 – Music Concert – 1st & 2nd Grade

Tuesday, December 6 - PTO Meeting at 4pm in the Library

Thursday, December 8 – Band, Choir & Orchestra Concert

Saturday, December 10 – Selfies with Santa Event

Friday, December 16 – School-Wide Movie Field Trip

Thursday, December 22

  • Polar Express PJ Party
  • End of Quarter 2

Friday, December 23 – Staff Work Day – No School

Monday, January 9 – AR Assemblies

Tuesday, January 10 - PTO Meeting at 4pm in the Library

Monday, January 16 – Martin Luther King Jr. Day – No School

Saturday, January 21 – Math Derby at CWC

Tuesday, February 7 - PTO Meeting at 4pm in the Library

Thursday, February 9 – 3rd & 4th District Battle of the Books

Friday, February 10 – 5th & 6th District Battle of the Books

Friday, February 24 – Parent Teacher Conference – No School

March PTO Meeting TBD

Thursday, March 9 – Quarter 3 Ends

Friday, March 10 through Friday, March 17 – Spring Break – No School

Monday, March 20 – AR Assemblies

Saturday, March 25 – District Science Olympiad Competition @ CTHS

Tuesday, April 4 - PTO Meeting at 4pm in the Library

Saturday, April 8 – District Chess Tournament @ CMS

Thursday, April 27 – STEAM Night 5:00pm to 6:30pm

Friday, April 28 – Professional Development – No School

Tuesday, May 2

  • PTO Meeting at 4pm in the Library
  • Kindergarten Night 5:00pm to 6:00pm

Friday, May 19 – Last Day of School

Girls Who Code - Canceled Next week

Tuesday, October 18 - Girls Who Code will be canceled on this date.


Parents - Please be sure to call into the office and let staff know when your child is staying after for club so we can update their school dismissal notes. You may also log onto the School Dismissal and update on your own. Thank you!

October Reading Challenge

Students check out books from the library matching the different categories and read them (or be read to). Jot down the title and author. One book per category. Turn in completed bookmarks to Mrs. Udy for a prize supplied by Panda Express's Read With Me program.

Nurse News

Dear Parents,


Frontline Missions is applying for a grant to serve meals to our students over the Christmas break for 10 days. Those meals would include breakfast and lunch items.

If you are interested, please contact your school nurse, Suzanne Chapelle @ 907-864-2103 or email: suzanne.chapelle@matsuk12.us by October 24th.

Picture Retakes

We will have picture re-take day on October 21, 2022. You can order online at mylifetouch.com using your child's school ID# or our Picture ID Code: EVTBS8J8D, or you can pick up a paper order form at the front office.

Halloween Family Event

Saturday, October 29, 2:00-4:30


Join us for an afternoon of Halloween fun! We will have carnival games, trick-or-treating and a spooky haunted house. The best part of all? It's all indoors this year! This is a free event for Cottonwood students and their families. Can't wait to see you!