Trix Family News

Week of April. 18, 2022

Big picture

Message from Principal Perkins (40 Instructional Days Left in Quarter 4)

Happy Easter Sunday Family!


I hope everyone enjoyed their three day weekend and holiday with friends and family!


So it is officially time for our State Assessment M-STEP. Below is the M-Step Parent Letter from our State Superintendent Michael F. Rice. Please read at your leisure. We start our testing season with Tuesday, April 19th. I am asking our parents to work with us in ensuring your scholars are in class daily during this assessment season.


Testing Tips for Parents


1. Make sure your child gets plenty of rest the night before the test.

2. On the morning of the test, your child needs to get up in plenty of time so he/she won't feel rushed.

3. Feed your child a good breakfast. Research shows that children do better on tests if they have had a good breakfast. (Trix Academy Breakfast runs from 8:05am-8:25am)

4. Do as much as you can to make your child feel comfortable. Try not to say things to make him/her feel more nervous.

5. Reassure your child that no matter the outcome of the test you will still love him/her. Encourage them to simply do their best.

6. Take an active role in your child's education throughout the school year. Let your child know you are interested in his/her learning by taking part in the entire process.

7. Give your child praise even if he or she didn't do well on the test.


3rd-8th grade scholars brought home posters last Friday, they created with words of encouragement. Please allow your child to put their poster up somewhere at home where they can see as a form of daily motivation.


Hard copies of the Summer Advantage Applications went home last week. Again these spots are limited. Return ASAP so you can secure a spot for our scholar.


Let's make it a wonderful week!!!


Sincerely,


Ms. L. Perkins, M.Ed


Principal


"Parents are the ultimate role model for children. Every word, movement, and action has an effect. No other person or outside force has a greater influence on a child than a parent." - Bob Keeshan

Parent Letter from Dr. Rice State of Michigan Department of Education Superintendent

STATE OF MICHIGAN

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

LANSING


March 2022


Dear Parent/Guardian:


This spring, your school district will administer state tests designed to provide important information on student knowledge and their progress toward being career- and college-ready upon graduation. These tests are required by federal

and state laws. Schools and districts use these test results for school improvement initiatives that benefit all students. The data gathered from this year’s state assessments will help educators support students when they return to school in the fall and move forward with their education.


Students in grades 3-10 will participate in the following assessments:

  • M-STEP English language arts (ELA) and mathematics (grades 3-7)

  • PSAT 8/9 (grade 8)

  • M-STEP science and social studies (grades 5 and 8)

  • PSAT 8/9 (grade 9)

  • PSAT 10 (grade 10)
    Grade 11 students will participate in the Michigan Merit Examination (MME),

    which has three required components:

    • SAT with Essay college entrance exam that also measures student knowledge on Michigan’s ELA and mathematics standards

    • ACT WorkKeys work skills assessment

    • M-STEP science and social studies

      We want your child’s state testing experience to be as stress-free as possible. Your positive outlook will support your child’s experience. State assessment results do not affect your student’s grades in any way.

      On average, a student will spend no more than three hours on M-STEP mathematics and ELA tests. Students in grades 5, 8, and 11 will spend an additional two hours on science and social studies testing.

      While we support parents in making choices for their children, there is no acceptable way under state or federal law to allow an “opt-out” of state assessments. Last year, requirements for 95 percent participation in state assessments were waived by the U.S. Department of Education due to COVID-19 restrictions. However, this is no longer the case for 2022. Students who are not assessed this year will count against their school’s required 95 percent participation rate, which will create an incomplete picture of their school’s performance.


Annual assessments provide information on how Michigan students perform and how well our schools and districts are teaching students compared to those in other communities, states, and nations. Assessment results help target support and resources to students and schools that need them most. The test results may also inform future state education programs and policies to help Michigan students catch up on learning that was delayed due to the COVID-19 pandemic.


You can find information about Michigan’s state assessment system on our website,

www.michigan.gov/oeaa. An excellent place to start is with the handout “Michigan’s State Assessment System: What It Is, What It Means, and What It Offers.” Additional information, including how to help your child prepare for M-STEP testing, is available at www.michigan.gov/mstep.


Sincerely,



Michael F. Rice, Ph.D. State Superintendent

MSTEP Testing Schedule Week of April 18th

Tuesday, April 19th 3rd Grade ELA

Wednesday, April 20th 4th Grade Math

Thursday, April 21st 5th Grade ELA

Friday, April 22nd Make Up Assessment (3rd ELA, 4th Math, 5th ELA)

Assessment Pep Rally and Special Guest "Fresh the Clowns"

Big picture

QUARTER 3 VIRTUAL PARENT-TEACHER-CONFERENCES

Parent Teacher Conferences will be held the week of April 18th. Teachers will contact the parents of scholars who is failing 2 or more subject in quarter 3. Final report cards will be mailed on Thursday, April 14th!

SCHOOL ESSER III FUNDS SURVEY - PARENT SURVEY Need More Survey Takers!

Please complete the survey below to give your feedback on how to use our ESSER III funds to support the staff and scholars of Trix Academy.


https://forms.gle/p9w86wKg3JGumQTW7

Phalen Leadership Academies Town Hall

Calling all families with scholars that attend PLA partner schools in the Michigan or D.C. area! Join Phalen Leadership Academies Regional Leadership for a Michigan and D.C. area Virtual Townhall on Wednesday, April 27th at 6:00 PM EST/5:00 PM CST. Get important news and updates, learn more about PLA and ask questions!



Click the link today to register: https://phalen.info/TownHallApril27th

Big picture
Big picture

Climate and Culture

Climate and Culture

  • Please continue to work with your scholars on being kind and showing kindness
  • Kindness goes a long way and kindness makes you feel good about yourself
  • Being kind creates a positive learning environment

School Fundraiser

  • Thanks to everyone who participated
  • Popcorn order has been submitted
  • Please allow at least two weeks for the popcorn to be shipped to the school
  • When popcorn arrives, parents will be immediately notified by phone to pick up order.

Loved Ones Day Balloon Release

What a beautiful "Loved Ones Day"!! Thank you to the admin team for supporting and blowing up all those 250 balloon! It was wonderful and our scholars truly appreciated it!

- YouTube

FUN AT THE HENRY FORD MUSEUM 6th and 7th Grade

DTE ENERGY VISITS (KITS) 4TH AND 5TH GRADE

Big picture

81% Average Daily Attendance the week of April 11th - April 14th DAILY GOAL 95%

What's Happening At Trix Academy???

Big picture

Dates to Remember


April 18th-22nd Teacher Scheduled Parent Teacher Conferences

April 19th Testing Season Officially Begins (MSTEP Testing Day 1)

WHAT ARE YOU DOING THIS SUMMER!!!

SUMMER ADVANTAGE 2022

It is never too early to be prepared!


Please click on link to see the Summer Advantage opportunity here at Trix Academy this Summer 2022.

(SPACE IS LIMITED SO SIGN UP TODAY!!)

Big picture

Summer Advantage Registration


Or call the Summer Advantage Team at 1-866-924-7226 from 8am-6pm Monday - Friday

Summer Advantage 2022: Registration & Dates Now Available
Big picture

Top Trade Schools in Detroit

Big picture


Detroit At Work Scholarship Program


Detroit at Work has five scholarship programs designed to give Detroiters access to greater opportunity, better careers and higher earning power.

Fill out the FORM and choose all programs you're interested in.

If you're interested in a finding a job, call us at 313-962-9675! Detroit at Work is open Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.


Emerging Industries Training Institute:


Emerging Industries Training Institute (EITI) is Detroit’s premier vocational school. We are the only employer led training facility in the City of Detroit. We pride ourselves in offering employment opportunities for our graduates, offering classes year round. EITI has the success of our students at the forefront of everything we do…we are in the business of changing lives for the better…starting with yours!


Since 2009, EITI has placed over 2,200 graduates into viable careers. With a placement rate of over 90% and consistently retaining over 88% of our students, EITI works closely with participating employers to ensure our graduates receive the best employment experience possible.


Local Food Pantry:

New Covenant of Peace

13560 E. McNichols
Detroit, MI - 48205

Phone: (313) 526-4000
tonynewcop@yahoo.com

Staff Email Addresses

Leadership

Luvenia Perkins, Principal - l.perkins@mecc-academies.org

Sheilene Smith, Operations Manager - s.smith@mecc-academies.org

Tyresha Robinson, Student Enrollment Coordinator - trobinson1@phalenacademies.org

Kenyatta Manley, Office Manager - k.manley@mecc-academies.org

Paula Hayes, Culture Specialist - p.hayes@mecc-academies.org

Laura Green, Instructional Specialist - lgreen@phalenacademies.org

Karen Orpe, Instructional Coach - k.orpe@mecc-academies.org


Special Education

Monica Mbua, Teacher - m.mbua@mecc-academies.org

Martha Miller, Social Worker - m.miller@mecc-academies.org


Kindergarten

Charlene Long, Teacher - c.long@mecc-academies.org

Patrice Nelson, Teacher - p.nelson@mecc-academies.org

Chelsea Henry, Teacher - c.henry@mecc-academies.org


First Grade

Tiara Owens, Teacher - t.owens@mecc-academies.org


Second Grade

Asia Bradley, Teacher - a.bradley@mecc-academies.org

Josef McKinney, Teacher - j.mckinney@mecc-academies.org


Third Grade

Stephanie Stamas, Teacher - s.stamas@mecc-academies.org


Fourth Grade

Sheryll Purdy, Teacher - s.purdy@mecc-academies.org

Atica Bell, Teacher - a.bell@mecc-academies.org


Fifth Grade

Michelle Kulcharyk, Teacher - m.kulcharyk@mecc-academies.org

Grace Munoz, Teacher - g.munoz@mecc-academies.org


Middle School

LaTesha Gordon, ELA Teacher - l.gordon@mecc-academies.org

Johari Brown, Math Teacher - j.brown@mecc-academies.org

Yolanda Betty, Science Teacher - y.betty@mecc-academies.org

Steven Orellana, Teacher - s.orellana@mecc-academies.org

Andre Keys, SEL Support/Teacher - a.keys@mecc-academies.org


Enrichment

Bryant Robertson, Art Teacher - b.robertson@mecc-academies.org

Edward McLean, Technology Teacher - e.mclean@mecc-academies.org

Jerel Allen, Physical Education Teacher - j.allen@mecc-academies.org


Reading Intervention

Matthew Bowman, Teacher - m.bowman@mecc-academies.org

Toiya Davis, Teacher - t.paige@mecc-academies.org

Nicolas Wolak, Teacher - n.wolak@mecc-academies.org

Big picture

Have Questions? Contact Us!

At Trix, all of our students are scholars. Our scholars learn robotics and coding; and they participate in daily enrichment courses in arts and humanities. Join us as we help to fuel our students’ dreams with: data driven instruction, brand new state- of-the art technology, and exceptional teachers who truly care about their success.