Jeffries Elementary

February 2017 Parent Newsletter- from Dr. Liz Cooper

February Important Dates:

Thursday, Feb. 2- Groundhog Day;

PTA Exec. Mtg. 6:30PM in the Conference Room

Friday, Feb. 3- Leadership Assembly 9:30AM; Mid-3rd Quarter;

*EXPLORE packets & V-Puppy Gram Pre-Orders go home with students.

Saturday, Feb. 4- Happy Birthday, Mr. Mendenhall

Feb. 6-10- National School Counselor Appreciation Week! Please help us show our appreciation to our full time counselor, Mrs. Livingston & part time counselor, Mrs. Schindele (Wed. & Thursdays).

Feb. 6-13- V-Day Puppy Gram Sales (8:20-8:50AM) until supplies are gone

Tuesday, Feb. 7- Jaguar Junction; Student Council Mtg.; Carver Strolling Strings perform for 5th grade (11:00-11:20); 2nd Grade Dress Rehearsal Assembly at 2PM in the Gym; PTA Mtg. with 2nd Grade Performance 7PM (students should arrive at 6:45PM)- Valentine Puppy Gram Sales ($3 each or 2 for $5)

Thursday, Feb. 9- PTA 3rd Quarter Luncheon for Staff (Conference Rm. from 11-1PM)

Tuesday, Feb. 14- V-Day parties from 2:30-3:30PM; Valentine Puppy Grams delivered

Thursday, Feb. 16- 3rd Grade Peter & The Wolf Field Trip (Drury) from 9:30-12:30PM

Monday, Feb. 20- President's Day (no school)- building closed.

Wednesday, Feb. 22- Jeffries Bus Evacuation Drill 9AM (K-5)

Thursday, Feb. 23- PTA Founder's Day Banquet at Glendale H.S. 6PM (ticket event)

Big image

Future Dates:

Thurs., March 2- Dr. Seuss Day (Dress Up Like Your Favorite Dr. Seuss Character); Jeffries PTA Fun Night (Jump Mania 6:30PM; Board Mtg. at 6:30PM)

Fri., March 3- Leadership Assembly & 3rd Quarter Awards

Tues., March 7- Jaguar Junction; Student Council Mtg. 7:45AM; 1st Grade Dress Rehearsal Assembly 2PM for school; PTA Mtg. with 1st Grade Performance 7PM

Wed., March 8- Jeffries Kindergarten Registration Day (9-12PM)- students who will be 5 before Aug. 1 need to enroll for the 2017-2018 school year!

Thurs., March 9- Jeffries Custodian Appreciation Day (please help us shower Kathy, Steve & Isaac in thank you cards, gifts, etc.); End of 3rd Quarter

Fri., March 10- Professional Work/Learning Day! (No school for students)

March 13-17- Spring Break! Sharpen Your Saw!

Thurs., March 17- St. Patrick's Day

Sat., March 18- Happy Birthday, Mrs. Stacie Allen (Art Teacher)

Wed., March 22- Spring Pictures, Graduation Pictures (5th Grade) & Yearbook groups

Tuesday, April 4- Go vote! SPS Bond on ballot

Thursday, April 6- Jeffries Skating Party (Skateland on S. Campbell)

Thursday, April 13- Kindergarten Field Trip to Dickerson Park Zoo

Tuesday, April 18- District 5th Grade Field Trip to the Cardinals (tentative)

Thursday, April 27- Jeffries Fine Arts Night 5PM

Tuesday, May 2 or 3rd (TBD)- 4th Grade Field Trip

May 1-5- Teacher Appreciation Week

Monday, May 1- District 4th Grade Field Trip to the Cardinals (tentative)

Friday, May 5- Jeffries PTA Spring Fling 6:30PM; Leadership Assembly with Real Encounter 9:30AM

Saturday, May 6- FREE Family Fun Day (Ridgecrest sponsored) at Jeffries with special guests: Real Encounter

Tuesday, May 9- 4th Grade Field Trip- Frontier Theatre

Monday, May 15- Last Leadership/Celebration Assembly 9:30AM; 100% Attendance Limo/Lunch for qualifying students

Wednesday, May 17- 3rd Grade Field Trip to the Cardinals (tentative)

Friday, May 19- Jeffries Field Day

Thursday, May 28- Jeffries Talent Show (9:30AM)

Probably either Friday, May 26 or Monday, May 29- Last day of school w/5th Grade Graduation (pending snow days)- the Board should be deciding soon.

Big image

EXPLORE! at Jeffries Elementary

Explore registration information coming soon!

On Feb. 3, your child will bring home information about how to enroll in Explore 2017. In addition to the Explore Pocket Guide for elementary and middle school students, new this year is a Field Guide specifically designed for high school students. This summer, Explore will offer students eight weeks of exciting opportunities to pursue their unique interests and passions. Each day will be packed with engaging, relevant and personal learning opportunities, enriched by integrated technology, exciting field experiences and hands-on activities. There will be two sessions of Explore. Session 1 could start as early as May 30, depending on the actual last day of the regular school year. The last day of Session I will be June 28. Session 2 will be held July 5-July 28. Artworks will also be offered free at two locations in June. Free transportation will be offered for eligible students and free breakfast and lunch will be served daily at every school. High school students may register for Explore classes beginning Feb. 13. Registration for middle school students begins Feb. 15. Registration for elementary students begins Feb. 16.

Jeffries EXPLORE: Mrs. Mercado is Jeffries EXPLORE Liaison. If you have any questions about EXPLORE or enrollment, please contact her! crmorrison@spsmail.org

Mrs. Brittany Payne (formally Mullen) will be 1st Session's Principal; Ms. Trisha Baugh (Jeffries Kindergarten Teacher with a Master's Degree in Administration)- Session 2.

Big image

Valentine Puppy Grams!

$3 Each or 2 for $5!

Student Council will be selling them from Feb. 6-13th. Pre-Sales go home on Feb. 3.

A reasonable way to send something special to your child at school on Valentine's Day- and proceeds benefit our Leadership Program!

Jeffries Volunteers of the Year!

Two of Jeffries amazing volunteers will be recognized at the District PTA's Founder's Day Banquet! We would like to recognize Mr. Gerry Koeneman & Mrs. Amanda Gregory for their dedication to the Jeffries Volunteer Program! Mr. Koeneman also serves as a Watch DOG, local fireman, etc. Mrs. Gregory currently serves as our PTA President. We appreciate their countless hours serving our school community.

Jeffries Team Members of the Month Highlights