HJHS Weekend Update

January 10, 2016

Big image

Planting Seeds and Growing Young Adults

I had the pleasure of attending the wedding of a former student this weekend. It was lovely! The young man is very successful in his career and married a wonderful young woman. I could not be happier for them. This is a far cry from how I felt about him in 8th grade. At the end of the year he made some terrible decisions and was suspended the last week of school because of his behavior on the Washington, D. C. trip. Last week after church, a young man approached me and asked if I remembered him. I did. He was an unfocused, very, very bright student in 8th grade with lots of potential but demons as well. He is now a business owner in Huntsville with a beautiful wife. He even laughed and said "can you believe I got my degree in math!"

Remember in 7th and 8th grade, we have students discovering who they are and who they want to become. More often than not, we get to see the results of our work in great student achievement and student leadership. So take a breath the next time one is making choices that you cannot fathom, he/she may be listening and learning but will not show it for years. We often are seed planters in Junior High School with a growth season that varies from child to child. So, keep working hard to help them see all they can be and keep planting seeds. In 10 years you may be dancing at their wedding rejoicing at how far they have come and the little part you played in their lives. And they will be so grateful that you never gave up on them!

Have a great week of learning and growing in your classrooms!

Stephanie

Upcoming Events and Notes for this week at HJHS!

Monday, January 11: Send home Report Cards and Impact Cards; PBIS meeting at University Place Elementary School at 3:15; STAR Math


Tuesday, January 12: STAR Math; Basketball HJHS vs. Challenger 3:30 (Home)


Wednesday, January 13: Faculty Meeting; STAR Make-Up Day

Thursday, January 14: Basketball HJHS vs. Westlawn 3:30 (home)


** NO ADVISORY THIS WEEK **

GREEAT JOB WITH PBIS ROLL OUT!

We had a great roll out of our HJHS PRIDE plan last week! While some kids are taking the "too cool" attitude, many others are getting on board. Please remember to stamp cards when you see students making good choices. It is critical that they know ALL of US are watching and taking note of the good things.


Thanks to the teachers who have served on our PBIS team: Kwesi Jackson, Stacy Jamison, Ashley Paludan, Tracy Sears, & Calandra Williams. They have done an amazing job in a very short period of time!

Afterschool Detention

Here is the link to the Google Doc for afternoon detention.
1. Parents must have 24 hours notice concerning a detention.
2. It is the assigning teacher's responsibility to enter the information on the Google Doc before the assigned detention AND to verify the student's attendance.
3. If you are in charge of monitoring detention, pick up a radio from Mr. Pressnell in the office. Make sure you have your computer so you can enter the student attendance. You will need to be in the AV room by 3:05. Detention runs from 3:05 - 3:35. There are no tardies if a student is late without a note from a teacher, he/she will have to make it up.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1MAxroOb12JtL5Q3dC0OweLRzC9lVWy8oB_81yB3yZ-I/edit?usp=sharing

DEADLINES AND DATES TO REMEMBER!

UPCOMING DATES TO REMEMBER

  • Monday, January 11: 2nd Nine Weeks Report Cards Go Home.
  • Tuesday, January 12: Basketball HJHS vs. Challenger 3:30 (Home)
  • Wednesday, January 13: Faculty Meeting

  • Thursday, January 14: Basketball HJHS vs. Westlawn 3:30 (home)

  • Monday, January 18: Martin Luther King Jr. Day (no school students/faculty)

  • Tuesday, January 19: HJHS vs. McNair 3:30 (away)

  • Wednesday, January 20: PST Meetings 3:30 - 5:00

  • Thursday, January 21: HJHS vs. HCMS (home)

  • Wednesday, January 27: PLC Meetings

  • Friday, January 29: Half Day Students/Half Day PD for Faculty

  • February 1 - April 1: ACCESS for ELLs and Alternate ACCESS for ELLs

  • Wednesday, February 3: Faculty Meeting

  • Monday, February 8: 3rd Nine Weeks Progress Reports Go Home
  • Monday, February 8: Tuesday, February 9: Choir State Solo & Ensemble Festival

  • Wednesday, February 10: PST meetings after school

  • Wednesday, February 17: Faculty Meeting/Equity Training

  • Wednesday, February 24: PLC Meetings

  • February 29 - March 4: SchoolNet Benchmark Assessments

  • Thursday, March 3 - Friday, March 4: State Choral Festival

  • Wednesday, March 2: Faculty Meeting

  • Friday, March 4: End of the 3rd Nine Weeks
  • Wednesday, March 9: PST meetings after school

  • Monday, March 14: 3rd Nine Weeks Report Cards Go Home.
  • Wednesday, March 16: Faculty Meeting/ARI
  • Wednesday, March 30: PLC Meetings
  • Monday, April 4 - Tuesday, April 5: State Choral Performance Assessment

  • Wednesday, April 6: PST Meetings

  • Wednesday, April 13: Faculty Meeting

  • Thursday, April 14 - Sunday, April 17: Advanced Choir Trip to New York

  • Monday, April 18: 4th Nine Weeks Progress Reports Go Home
  • April 18 - 27: STAR Spring Benchmark

  • Wednesday, April 20: PST meetings after school

  • Wednesday, April 27: Faculty Meeting/Test Security

  • April 28 - May 13: ACT End of Course Tests (Algebra I and Geometry)

  • May 2 - 13: ACT Aspire

  • Wednesday, May 4: Faculty Meeting

  • Wednesday, May 11: PST meetings after school - End of the Year