The Seahawks Call

Week of April 26, 2021 Volume 30

Message from Principal Taylor..............................

Last week went pretty smoothly for our Phase 3 and 4 students who returned to in-person learning. Students did well with following school procedures that have been implemented to ensure everyone's safety. They also seemed to understand classroom routines and teacher expectations that have been established to ensure hybrid instruction remained successful.


As a reminder, we are half way into the last quarter and conversations are taking place to make final instructional decisions as it relates to promotions, summer school, and retentions. Continue to encourage your child to buckle down, attend and actively participate in classes, and complete and submit assignments.


I'd like to congratulate all of our students who made honor roll for the third quarter. Honor roll certificates are being mailed. For our virtual honor roll students, make sure you check out our school's website where all honorees are highlighted. For our in-person honor roll students, check out our wall down main street where honor roll recipient lists are displayed.

Wait-listed Students

Due to parents changing their minds and requesting for their child to remain in the virtual setting, this opens up the opportunity for students on the wait-list to be considered.


In order for a wait-listed student to be considered for in-person learning, two main criteria must take place.

1) We must be able to socially-distance the student in all of their classes as well as their assigned lunch period

2) The student's current schedule can not be modified in anyway. That means, we will not change any of their current teachers nor change the period for any of their classes on their current schedule

If we are able to satisfy these two expectations, your child will be invited to return to in-person learning, which will start the week of May 3rd.


Any student who has been wait-listed will receive a letter of approval or denial this week.


Library News from Mrs. H-J!


SeaHawks Read:

Somers remains the top middle school for minutes read and logged in Beanstack – way to go!

If your students are not reading regularly, please encourage them to do so. Regular recreational reading helps students in so many ways – it builds empathy, vocabulary, and even affects their future learning success!


To borrow a quote from one of my colleagues: “Readers are Leaders and Leaders are Readers.” Students can find eBooks and audiobooks on our school library Destiny account. Students in the building are welcome to request physical books. And the Charles County Public Library has Curbside Checkout available at all of their branches.


Library Reminders:

Our library books are looking to reunite with their missing companions. Have a Somers library book still checked out? Please return it during school hours and make the other books happy.

SCHOOL SUPPORTS

ADMINISTRATIVE TEAM

Marlon Walker - 6th Grade VP - mwalker@ccboe.com

Cynthia Panizzi - 7th Grade VP - cpanizzi@ccboe.com

Wualanda Thenstead - 8th Grade VP - wthenstead@ccboe.com

Sonia Matthew - Administrative Asst. - smatthew@ccboe.com


COUNSELING SUPPORTS

Kenneth Tojek - 6th Grade Counselor - ktojek@ccboe.com

Nancy Franklin - 7th Grade Counselor - nfranklin@ccboe.com

Brittany Williams - 8th Grade Counselor - bwilliams@ccboe.com


INSTRUCTIONAL LEADERSHIP TEAM

Andrea Johnson - Reading Resource Teacher (Reading) - afjohnson@ccboe.com

Jennifer Branham - Instructional Resource Teacher (Math) - jbranham@ccboe.com

Suzanne Johnson - Learning Resource Teacher (Gifted Education and Testing Coordinator) - srjohnson@ccboe.com

The Charles County public school system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, age or disability in its programs, activities or employment practices. For inquiries, please contact Kathy Kiessling, Title IX Coordinator and Section 504 Coordinator (students), or Nikial M. Majors, Section 504 Coordinator (employees/adults), at Charles County Public Schools, Jesse L. Starkey Administration Building, P.O. Box 2770, La Plata, Maryland 20646. 301-932-6610/301-870-3814. For special accommodations call 301-934-7230 or TDD 1-800-735-2258 two weeks prior to the event.