Pranayama: 8 Kumbhakas of Hatayoga

The beginner's course to arouse kundalini shakti gently

hatayoga begins with pranayama

Unlike ashtanga yoga, hatayoga begins with pranayama. The goal of pranayama is to gently coax the downward flowing sexual energy called apana upwards through the spinal cord to meet the upward flowing life force energy called prana until it reaches stable ground at the pineal gland. This provides the security and stability that all human beings are searching for.

You can use the 8 kumbhakas of hatayoga along with the nervous system to create deep states of samadhi or harmony with the source of all life force. True abundance is abundance of energy, not time or money. Both of those die out, energy can never die.

The 8 kumbhakas integrate with your current yoga practice to help you get a taste of amrutha or immortality. You will learn how to bring the eternal nature of energy into your identity rather than identifying as a man or woman.

8 Kumbhakas of Hatayoga Introductory Session

Sunday, July 27th 2014 at 11:45am-1:30pm

Vontikoppal 6th Cross Rd

Mysore, Karnataka

This is a free introductory event, conducted by Ashwin Mohan the founder of Rahasya Yoga Vidyalaya, Gokulam, Mysore. Here you can sample the power of pranayama. If you'd like to sign up for the course which starts on the 28th of July to the 2nd of August. You can do so after the event.

Lessons on Sunday

  • What is pranayama
  • What is prana
  • Awareness of prana in the body
  • Origins of hatayoga
  • Kumbhaka practice - fundamental practice of pranayama
  • Chakras and Bijas - creating electrical charges at various spinal and cranial locations
  • Prathama Visarjana - nerve cleansing
  • Demonstration of prana shakti on muscles

Rahasya Yoga Vidyalaya

Rahasya Yoga Vidyalaya was founded by Ashwin Mohan as a promise to his teacher Babaji. He promised to make an institute that will translate the tantras and teach them in Modern India. The first step to understanding the tantras is to understand its roots, sankhya and yoga. Ashwin teaches the links between these three great systems of Indian philosophy and internal alchemy. Sankhya means rationale, yoga means fine control, tantra means effective technique.

Ashwin is the author of the popular talk series on yoga called yoga rahasya
pranayama 1 of 9 Kumbhaka