MGM 7th Grade Gator News

April 4, 2016

Welcome Back!

Be sure to read through for house news, upcoming assessments, and highlights!

News & Updates

Big image

Cracking Cancer Service Project

We are so proud of our 7th grade Gators for their work on the Cracking Cancer Campaign! Together, they worked to spread awareness about teen cancers and the important work of the organization, Teen Cancer America. Through crew, students promoted our service project school-wide which helped MGMS raise $500 in just four days to be donated to Teen Cancer America. Students' efforts were rewarded as they were able to crack eggs on their teachers' heads. Way to go Gators!
Big image

Color Me Gator Sponsors

Are you interested in having your business sponsor the Color Me Gator event this year? This is a great advertising opportunity, and we would love your support!

Please click HERE to read more information.

Color Me Gator--Student Information

MGM's awesome spring event COLOR ME GATOR is Friday, April 29. Color Me Gator is a color run of epic proportions that takes place during the school day. You won't want to miss it! Registration is $10 -- every one who registers will receive at least a t-shirt and 1 color dye pack (the t-shirt design is new this year). Deadline to register is April 11. Registration forms were sent home with students and an electronic copy is available. Register today! Click here for the registration form!
Color Me Gator

It's Time to Start Thinking about Summer Camp!

Below is a list of 2016 Summer Camp Opportunities. Click the links for more information on each camp opportunity!


Clemson 4-H Camp http://www.clemson.edu/yli/pages/4h2.php

Columbia Museum of Art http://www.columbiamuseum.org/learn/summercamp

SC Chamber of Commerce Business Week www.scbusinessweek.com

USC Adventures Series Summer Camps http://saeu.sc.edu/adventures/advseries.php

Clemson Camp Hannon Adventures http://www.clemson.edu/yli/pages/adventure3.php

Emerging Public Leaders http://riley.furman.edu/education/emerging-public-leaders-application

Leadership Converse 2015 http://www.converse.edu/leadership-converse

Youth Corps http://www.youthcorps.net

Clemson Camp Sewee http://www.clemson.edu/yli/pages/sewee4.php

United States Military Academy, West Poin thttp://www.westpoint.edu/admissions/SitePages/Summer.aspx

Clemson Camp Wildlife http://www.clemson.edu/yli/pages/wildlife3.php

Governor's School: GoSciTech http://www.scgssm.org/programs-clubs/go-scitech

Governor's School: iTeam http://www.scgssm.org/outreach-camps

Tech-Know Time Camp (Lego Camp) https://sites.google.com/a/techknowtime.com/tkt/

Clemson Camp Voyager http://www.clemson.edu/yli/pages/voyager3.php

Camp YMCA http://columbiaymca.org/camp/

Camp EdVenture Summer Camps http://www.edventure.org/programs/camps/

Vet CAMP http://www.vet.uga.edu/academic/vetcamp

Palmetto Parent Camp Directory http://www.palmettoparent.com/Camps.aspx

Columbia Living Mag. Camp Guide http://www.columbialivingmag.com/summer-camp-guide

"Serious" Writers Workshop offered for Girls http://www.columbiasc.edu/about/latest-news/1639-serious-writers-workshop-offered-for-6-11-grade-girls-apply-by-may-4

Columbia Children's Theatre http://www.columbiachildrenstheatre.com/

Carolina Wildlife Center Volunteer http://carolinawildlife.org/volunteer/

Palmetto Health Jr. Volunteer Program https://www.volgistics.com/ex/portal.dll/ap?AP=282437381&OR=1

Lexington Medical Center Jr. Volunteer Program http://www.lexmed.com/docs/volunteer/LexingtonMedical_Junior_Volunteer_Application_2015.pdf

Upcoming Assessments

Check with your child's teacher if you have questions!

Math: Chapter 13 RETAKE- Tues. April 5.


ALL Math Classes: MAP TESTING- Wed.-Fri. April 6-8. PLEASE come to school with iPads fully charged!


ELA & Accelerated ELA: Student's children's books about the life of Frederick Douglass are due this week on Wednesday for a summative grade!


Science: Friday, April 8th - Soil Scroll Formative Assessment is due

Wednesday, April 13th - Picture an Ecosystem Formative Assessment is due



Social Studies: WW2 Retest on April 5th. Students must have test corrections completed!


World Language French Immersion (7th): None

World Language French Passport: None

World Language Chinese: None

World Language Novice A French: None

World Language Novice B1: None

World Language Novice C1: None

World Language Novice C2 Spanish: None

World Language Novice C3 Spanish: None

World Language Novice C3 French: None

World Language Latin Novice A: None

World Language Latin 1: None

Thank you for sharing your children with us each day!