Lynx MS News

AIS West - March 2021

Dear students and parents,


Happy Spring! We were thrilled to welcome back some students to campus last week. We know that this has been a tumultuous time for everyone. We appreciate your flexibility and continued support.


As Dr. Randy mentioned in his email, the Middle School plans to continue in a hybrid model for the duration of the school year. We have made an adjustment to our schedule to better support students when their cohort is learning from home. Please take a look at the schedule and video explanation linked below.


All Middle School Cohort A students will take Arabic Ministry Exams on campus this Thursday, March 4. Middle School Cohort B students will take exams on Monday, March 8. If a student is quarantined or sick, they will be able to take a make up exam upon their return to school.


We hope to connect with all parents at our monthly parent workshop on March 4. Ms. Angela will be discussing how to cultivate a growth mindset at home and school. We will also leave plenty of time for questions with Ms. Chelsea at the end of the session.


Finally, take a moment to meet our new Middle School Assistant Principal, Mr. Mathias. Mathias has created a welcome video linked below.


As always, don't hesitate to reach out to us at any time. Our doors are always open.


Your partners in education,

Mark Tennant

Secondary School Principal

mtennant@aiswest.com


Chelsea Armstrong

Middle School Assistant Principal

carmstrong@aiswest.com


Reham Sherif

Middle School Administrative Assistant

rsherif@aiswest.com

Meet our New Assistant Principal Mathias Sanders

Important Dates

Feb 28 - March 3 - Grade 6 Cohort A On Campus

Grade 6 Cohort B, Grade 7 and Grade 8 At Home Learning


March 4 - All Cohort A On Campus - Arabic Ministry Exams


March 4 - Parent Workshop - Cultivating a Growth Mindset at Home and School


March 7 - March 11 - Cohort B On Campus (all grades)

Cohort A At Home Learning (all grades)


March 8 - Cohort B Arabic Ministry Exams


March 14 - March 18 - Cohort A On Campus (all grades)

Cohort B At Home Learning (all grades)


MARCH 18 - END OF TERM 3


March 21 - March 25 - Cohort B On Campus (all grades)

Cohort A At Home Learning (all grades)


March 28 - April 1 Cohort A On Campus (all grades)

Cohort B At Home Learning (all grades)


April 4 - April 8 - SPRING BREAK

Student of the Month - Yousef Galal Eldin

Yousef Galal Eldin is our Open Minded Student of the Month. Yousef has a diverse family background, which he is very proud of. Yousef is also open to learning other people's points of view and beliefs.

Teacher of the Month - Ahmed Khattab

Mr. Ahmed is an open minded teacher who is always willing to learn from his colleagues and students. Ahmed is always open to the stories, perspectives, values and traditions of others.
Big picture

OWLYPIA INTELLECTUAL CHALLENGE WINNERS: Hana, Laila and Lela

Big picture
Big picture

Career Day was a Success - - - - - Huge Thanks to our Guest Speakers!

Counselor's Corner

March is here and we are finally getting back to on campus learning. Counseling drop-in zoom hours for at home cohorts will still be available for students but with changed hours (information will be sent via email and google classroom). On March 4th I will be having a parent workshop on using growth mindset to motivate our children via zoom. Hope to see you there!

Secondary School Library News!

If you liked the movie, you'll LOVE the book! In the Secondary School Library we are featuring books that were made into films and TV series. Come by and discover over 130 books in our collection! Recently, the SS library paid a visit to the amazing American University Cairo Bookshop for their December book sale. We have purchased and added over forty new gorgeous books mainly on Cairo and Egypt to our collection. Come by and check them out.

Overcoming Test Anxiety - A Message from Dr. Les Potter

Test anxiety is very common among many students. It is normal to feel some level of anxiety or stress regarding an exam. Anxiety can be a motivator. However, at very high levels, anxiety can interfere with your learning and test performance.


What causes test anxiety?


* prior negative test-taking experiences

* fear of failure

* lack of preparation

* poor time management

* poor study habits

* lack of organization

* cramping for a test instead of long term studying

* unclear of what will be asked on the exam

* lack of confidence

* negative thought process

* perfectionism and feelings of unworthiness leading to unreasonable goals

* focusing on negative consequences of failure rather than preparing to succeed


Tips for reducing test anxiety


* preparation

* develop good study habits

* don't cram but study over several days

* ask for help when needed

* get adequate rest

* attend class regularly and on time

* complete all tasks on time

* make and take practice tests

* develop reasonable expectations

* encourage yourself

* keep your mind focused on the present

* do one thing at a time

* practice, practice, practice

* study, study, study

* time management

* eat healthy-be healthy

What's Happening in Grade 6?

English 6 - Michaela Lucey - mlucey@aiswest.com - Gail Heard - gheard@aiswest.com

We are continuing to work on our reading comprehension skills while reading Zarah The Windseeker and working on the final drafts of our Hero's Journey creative writing assignment.

Geography 6 - John Lawrence - jlawrence@aiswest.com - Abdelkader Chabi - achabi@aiswest.com

Students will learn about "Russia's Varied Landscape: Physical Processes at Work". Five new terms are included as well as four physical processes that build up and wear down Earth's surface. The essential question is "How do physical processes shape earth's landscape"?

Math 6 - Vince Yung - vyung@aiswest.com - Michael Heard - mheard@aiswest.com

Students will finish our fraction unit and we will start on decimals. We will review addition and subtraction of decimals. We will then move over to multiplication and division of decimals.

Science 6 - Amanda Bailey - abailey@aiswest.com - Andrea Clark - aclark@aiswest.com

In the first half of March, students will continue learning about Earth & space. In term 4, we will begin the unit on life science.

Arabic 6 - Ahmed Khattab - akhattab@aiswest.com - Ali Mansour - amansour@aiswest.com

اللغة العربية: درس "الحياة دائمًا اثنان" قراءة. / درس "الحرية والمسئولية " نصوص. / درس "الأسماء الخمسة وإعرابها " نحو. / الفصل الخامس "في فرنسا" - قصة علي مبارك.

AFL 6 - Mohamed Hassan - mhassan@aiswest.com

الفراءة ( الترويح عن النفس ) القواعد ( آسماء الاشارة للمثني والجمع بنوعيه ) الاملاء ( ال القمرية والشمسية ،التاء المربوطة ،المتوحة ) تحدث واستماع ( قصة البقرة الحلوب

Arabic SS 6 - Asmaa Mahmoud- amahmoud@aiswest.com

الوحدة الأولي : البيئة الصحراوية ( الخصائص الطبيعية ) التاريخ: الاحتلال البريطاني لمصر والثورة العرابية

French 6 - Edwina Nordquist - enordquist@aiswest.com

Students are continuing to review and learn their French numbers, the days of the week and the months so they can talk about birthdays.

Spanish 6 - Dolores Rodriguez - drodriguez@aiswest.com

Students will learn how to spell their names and talk about the weather in Spanish. There will be a cultural project for the Carnaval celebration that is celebrated in March.

Drama 6 - Ilonka Meier - imeier@aiswest.com

Students will develop and write a story (synopsis) for TV and learn to explore the differences between a movie character and a character for the stage.

Technology 6 - Alejandro Corredor - acorredor@aiswest.com

Students will be working on how to build robots using simple machines as a base.

Physical Education 6 - Marty Perry, Katrina Wards, and Ron Thomson mperry@aiswest.com kwards@aiswest.com, and rthomson@aiswest.com

Students are excited to be back at school and participating in various lead up games and challenges.

Art 6 - Hannah Wilson - hwilson@aiswest.com

Students are learning Color Theory and how to paint in a controlled way.

Band 6 - Patricia Granter - pgranter@aiswest.com

Band members are working hard to learn new music. Progress is slower now due to the different instruments involved and the time lag of sound during class on-line. For the beginner groups we are currently learning new music, our first band piece, on p.13. For the middle school band we have been working on Beauty and the Beast. We are all hoping to be able to perform these pieces for a concert when we return later this semester.

What's Happening in Grade 7?

English 7 - Gail heard and Amira Nabhan - gheard@aiswest.com, anabhan@aiswest.com

Students will continue working on grammar and punctuation skills with the thrice weekly Caught Ya exercises, and complete their reading and analysis of The Breadwinner.

Math 7 - Michael Heard and Amira Elsherif mheard@aiswest.com, aelsherif@aiswest.com

Students will apply understanding fractions, decimals, percentages, and ratios to solve practical problems.

Science 7 - Andrea Clark & Yara Elshorafa aclark@aiswest.com, yelshorafa@aiswest.com

Students will finish their unit over Life Cycles and begin their unit over the Rock Cycle.

History 7 - Abdelkader Chabi and Daniel McCarville - achabi@aiswest.com, dmccarville@aiswest.com

Students will explore Ancient Chinese dynasties as well as their three philosophies (Confucianism, Taoism and Legalism) and their impact on modern society.

Arabic 7 - Sahar Mahmoud - smahmoud@aiswest.com

1-مهارة الاستماع والتحدث : نص شعري "تواضع سيدنا عمر"،2- درس قراءة:"من قصص القرآن الكريم"، 3-الفصل التاسع من قصة"عقبة بن نافع"4-قواعد نحوية:أسلوب الشرط، ومراجعة جزم الفعل المضارع والأفعال الخمسة،الفعل اللازم والفعل المتعدي،5- مهارة الكتابة: كتابة تلخيص لقصة "تواضع سيدنا عمر"

Drama 7 - Ilonka Meier - imeier@aiswest.com

Students will develop and write a story (synopsis) for TV and learn explore the differences between a movie character and a character for the stage.

French 7 -Edwina Nordquist- enordquist@aiswest.com

Students will learn about the body parts so they can describe people's appearances in details. Our grammar lesson will be focused on the French adjectives agreement.

Spanish 7 - Dolores Rodriguez - drodriguez@aiswest.com

Students will learn about the culture in Mexico. Will learn to talk about school activities, classes, schedules and different places in school.

AFL 7 - Mohamed Hassan - mhassan@aiswest.com

القراءة ( ابو قير وابو صير ) القواعد ( الفاعل والمفعول به ) الاملاء ( علامات الترقيم ) تحدث واستماع ( فصة النملة والجرادة

Technology 7 - Alejandro Corredor - acorredor@aiswest.com

During this month students will learn how to code using Arcade Makecode in order to make simple one level games.

Art 7 - Hannah Wilson - hwilson@aiswest.com

Students are learning how to shade and create images that appear 3D.

Band - Patricia Granter - pgranter@aiswest.com

Beginning Band: Band members are working hard to learn new music. Progress is slower now due to the different instruments involved and the time lag of sound during class on-line. For the beginner groups we are currently learning new music, our first band piece, on p.13. For the middle school band we have been working on Beauty and the Beast. We are all hoping to be able to perform these pieces for a concert when we return later this semester.


Intermediate Band: Band members are working hard to learn new music. Progress is slower now due to the different instruments involved and the time lag of sound during class on-line. For the beginner groups we are currently learning new music, our first band piece, on p.13. For the middle school band we have been working on Beauty and the Beast. We are all hoping to be able to perform these pieces for a concert when we return later this semester.

Dance 7 - Lina Rodriguez - lrodriguez@aiswest.com

We are learning about Jazz history.

Arabic Social Studies 7 - Mohamed Ahmed - mahmed@aiswest.com

الجغرافيا: المناخ التاريخ: الحياه الاجتماعية عند المصريين القدماء

Physical Education 7 - Anders Nordquist - anordquist@aiswest.com

Students are excited to be back at school and participating in various lead up games and challenges.

What's Happening in Grade 8?

English 8 - Hadear Hassan & Amira Nabhan - hhassan@aiswest.com, anabhan@aiswest.com

This month students will explore ancient Greek myths and their relation to today’s world. They will end the unit by completing a writing assignment on Greek mythology.

Math 8 - Amira Elsherif & Laila Elfakharany -aelsherif@aiswest.com, lelfakharany@aiswest.com

In March, students will learn about the Cartesian plane and the connection between the Cartesian coordinate system and math. Graphing on the coordinate plane will be introduced, in the four quadrants, using (x, y) coordinates. Later, students will learn how to graph equations on the coordinate plane.

History 8 - Daniel MacCarville - dmaccarville@aiswest.com - Hadear Hassan - hhassan@aiswest.com

After concluding a unit on the Renaissance, the students will turn their attention to the Reformation that took place in Europe in the 1500s. Part of the learning process will be undertaking a project where the students will research Martin Luther and his 95 Theses and design a poster.

Science 8 - Yara Elshorafa & Dina Sonbol - yelshorafa@aiswest.com, dsonbol@aiswest.com

Students will explore electrical energy. We will focus on understanding electrical charges and their interactions, static electracy, current electricity, and the different types of circuits. We will also learn how to handle electricity safely.

Spanish 8 - Dolores Rodriguez - drodriguez@aiswest.com

Students will practice hall what they have learnt: how to talk about clothes they want to buy and say what they wear in different seasons, using the verb tener, stem changing verbs such as prefiero, quiero, and use direct object pronouns.

French 8 - Edwina Nordquist - enordquist@aiswest.com

Students will continue learning about l'école et l'année scolaire so they can talk about everything in and around their school life in French. Our grammar lesson will be focused on the different French articles (definite, indefinite and partitive). And in our géoculture section, students will continue to explore Québec.

Technology 8 - Alejandro Corredor - acorredor@aiswest.com

During March students will be working on understand the Processing coordinate system and the comands to draw simple shapes in the screen.

AFL 8 - Mohamed Hassan - mhassan@aiswest.com

الفراءة ( الترويح عن النفس ) القواعد ( آسماء الاشارة للمثني والجمع بنوعيه ) الاملاء ( ال القمرية والشمسية ،التاء المربوطة ،المتوحة ) تحدث واستماع ( قصة البقرة الحلوب

Arabic 8 - Salah Moaty & Aly Mansour - smoaty@aiswest.com, amansour@aiswest.com

- اللغة العربية (الكنز قبل أن يضيع - الخلق كنز لا يفنى- التمييز- قصة كفاح شعب مصر هزيمة وبعث جديد) - التربية الإسلامية (سورة الفرقان )

Arabic Social Studies 8 - Mahmoud Sharkawy- msharkawy@aiswest.com

الجغرافيا : النشاط الزراعي في وطننا العربي : التاريخ : الدولة الآموية والدولة العباسية

Art 8 - Hannah Wilson - hwilson@aiswest.com

Students are learning about Pop Art and will create a Pop Art Painting.

Dance 8 - Lina Rodriguez - lrodriguez@aiswest.com

We are creating a choreography applying some Jazz basic steps.

Drama 8 - Ilonka Meier - imeier@aiswest.com

Students will develop and write a story (synopsis) for TV and learn explore the differences between a movie character and a character for the stage.

Physical Education 8 - Marty Perry, Katrina Wards, and Anders Nordquist mperry@aiswest.com, kwards@aiswest.com, and anordquist@aiswest.com

Band - Patricia Granter - pgranter@aiswest.com

Beginning Band: Band members are working hard to learn new music. Progress is slower now due to the different instruments involved and the time lag of sound during class on-line. For the beginner groups we are currently learning new music, our first band piece, on p.13. For the middle school band we have been working on Beauty and the Beast. We are all hoping to be able to perform these pieces for a concert when we return later this semester.


Intermediate Band: Band members are working hard to learn new music. Progress is slower now due to the different instruments involved and the time lag of sound during class on-line. For the beginner groups we are currently learning new music, our first band piece, on p.13. For the middle school band we have been working on Beauty and the Beast. We are all hoping to be able to perform these pieces for a concert when we return later this semester.

AIS West Middle School

Follow us on Instagram @aise_west_middleschool