MGM 7th Grade House News

November 30, 2018

Welcome!

Welcome to 7th Grade! Please read below for house news, upcoming assessments, and 7th grade house highlights! These newsletters will be sent out every week on Friday!

Follow Us!

Please keep up with news and happenings at MGMS by following us on social media. Check us out at:


Facebook @mgmsgators

Twitter @mgmgators

Instagram @mgmgators

School website: mgms.lexington1.net

7th Grade Expedition: What's the Cost Service Project: Chores for Change!

As part of our 7th grade expedition, What's the Cost? students have partnered with Heifer International to participate in their Chores for Change program.


Chores for Change is a service program designed for children and youth. Whether at home, school, or in another group setting, the program shows students how they can create local and global change at the same time. The program invites students to volunteer in their communities while raising funds to support our mission around the world. Students recruit sponsors to pledge donations for the time they spend doing service activities. Once their service is complete, participants collect pledges, helping to eliminate hunger and poverty around the world. In their CREWs students participated in a poverty simulation and decided to purchase plants or animals for families around the world. Ask your child what their CREW has chosen to purchase!


Students can do chores around the house or their communities to collect change! This project will go until December 7, 2018.

Big picture
Big picture

Washington, D.C. Trip

Thank you for turning in permission slips for Washington, D.C. Please note no monies will be collected through MGM. Here is the payment schedule and the links for paying the travel company by mail or online:


Payment Schedule:

Payment #2: $135 by December 1st

Payment #3: $135 by January 1st

Payment #4: $130 by February 1st


Payment form if paying by mail
Website to pay online - click the payments tab and fill in the information

This is an awesome trip for students that always culminates in our 7th grade veterans project (completed in the spring). Students will be learning more information about this project as the year progresses.


Please contact Amanda Kerbis if you have additional questions. akerbis@lexington1.net

Make Up Jr. Beta Club Induction Ceremony

If you missed Thursday's Jr. Beta Club Induction Ceremony, the next induction will be held on Thursday, January 10th at 6pm in the MGM Theatre.


If you have questions, please reach out to rlcooper@lexington1.net.

Teacher Contact Information

Please contact your child's teacher if you have any questions or concerns.


Administration:

Dr. Bill Coon - bcoon@lexington1.net

Dr. Kyle Meetze - kmeetze@lexington1.net

Jamie Powell -jpowell@lexington1.net

Alisa Long- aklong@lexington1.net


Counselor:

Davis Myers- dmyers@lexington1.net


House Leader

Amanda Hammill ahammill@lexington1.net


Content Area Teachers:

ELA

Andrea Roberts- aroberts@lexington1.net

Melanie Wells- mwells@lexington1.net

Joyce Perkins- jperkins@lexington1.net


Science

Taylor Fralick- tfralick@lexington1.net

Regan Moore- rwmoore@lexington1.net

Mary Harbaugh- mharbaugh@lexington1.net


Math

Bill Rogers- brogers@lexington1.net

Rebecca Fischer- rfischer@lexington1.net

Tammy Hardy- thardy@lexington1.net


Social Studies

Amanda Hammill- ahammill@lexington1.net

Derrick Price- dwprice@lexington1.net

Amanda Kerbis - akerbis@lexington1.net

Ben Jackson- bjackson@lexington1.net


Encore Teachers

Drama - Rachel Cooper - rlcooper@lexington1.net

Orchestra - Jennifer Mann - jmann@lexington1.net

Dance - Megan Viazanko- mviazanko@lexington1.net

Dance - Kara Corley - kccorley@lexington1.net

Band - Melanie Winn- mwinn@lexinton1.net

Art - June Collins - jcollins@lexington1.net

Art - Beth Maddox - bmaddox@lexington1.net

Chorus - Augie Gil- agil@lexington1.net

STEM - Cliff Roberts - cjroberts@lexington1.net

ICIVICS - Melody Shafer - mshafer@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed - Phillip Thomas - pthomas@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed - Stephen Harmon - srharmon@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed- Abby Chisholm - achisholm@lexington1.net

PE - Candice Cobb - ccobb@lexington1.net

PE - Ben Anderson- rbanderson2@lexington1.net

Digital Design - Ryan Panter - rpanter@lexington1.net

Supplemental Math - Ann Bennett - abennett@lexington1.net

Academic Seminar LA - Susan Myrick - smyrick@lexington1.net

Math RTI - Trisha Hamilton - thamilton@lexington1.net

ELA RTI - Rayna Kleckley - rkleckley@lexington1.net

Academic Seminar LA - Jennifer Williams - jbwilliams@lexington1.net


World Language

Latin - Jessica Stolebarger - jstolebarger@lexington1.net

French - Dr. Todd Spaulding - tspaulding@lexington1.net

French - Erin Hamner - ehamner@lexington1.net

French - Cheikh Fall - cfall@lexington1.net

Chinese - Na Zhang - nzhang@lexington1.net

Chinese - Susan Wang - ywang@lexington1.net

Chinese-Natalie Lukity - nlukity@lexington1.net

Spanish - Samantha Simmons - ssimmons@lexington1.net

Spanish - Valentina Salomon msalomon@lexington1.net

Manuel Vasquez mvasquez@lexington1.net,

Hilda Duarte hduartegomez@lexington1.net,

Filder Segura fsegura@lexington1.net

Musical Theatre Production of Guys and Dolls Jr.

Join MGM Musical Theatre 7th and 8th grade casts for a dice rolling good time this week as they present the musical "Guys and Dolls JR." See what Nathan, Adelaide, Sky and Sarah and the amazing cast are up to as they try travel from the heart of Times Square to Havana and back.


8th grade cast performs on Thursday and Friday night at 6:30pm and 7th grade roars to the stage on Saturday at 4pm and 6:30pm. Tickets are available at the door for $7 and kids under 5 are free.


See you there!

Book Club December 11th 3:30-4:30

Big picture

MGM Counseling Department

Science Case Study!

MGM Gators had a wonderful opportunity to act as real scientists this week as we measured for the water quality of our local stream. Students heard from guest experts Sarah Chabaane from the Department of Natural Resources and Justin Lewandowski from the Department of Health and Environmental Control about the importance of macro-invertebrates (insects, crawfish, snails, and worms) as an indicator species in a healthy ecosystem. The experts taught students how to conduct a scientific sampling of the stream. The next day, students visited the stream, conducted the research and gathered data. Once we returned to the classroom, we began to analyze this data and determine what it means about the health of our local stream.
Follow the counseling center on Twitter @mgmcounseling for updates from our counselors!

7TH GRADE UPCOMING ASSESSMENTS

IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS ABOUT ASSESSMENTS BELOW, PLEASE EMAIL YOUR CHILD'S TEACHER.
ELA: ELA: Chavez Speech Formative Assessment on Friday 12/7


MATH: Pre-Algebra should be ready for a test next Friday, December 7.


SCIENCE: See Schoology.


SOCIAL STUDIES: Unit 3 Summative Assessment on Revolutions 12/4.


WORLD LANGUAGES: Click here for a link to all WL updates.


Encore:

Don't forget your 2018-2019 yearbook! The price will go up soon. Please go to jostensyearbooks.com to order yours today.



Week of Dec 3rd

8th grade iCivics-summative on Elections, Monday 12/3

7th grade iCivics-summative on Elections, Friday 12/7

PTO Updates

Sign up using the link below to receive emails from MGMS PTO. We will share information about our meetings, events, volunteer opportunities and more! Register Here Please contact us at mgmsptogators@gmail.com if you have any questions.


See upcoming PTO dates:

Dec 5 - Collaborative Planning Day - Dismiss at 12:40

Dec 7 - Krispy Kreme car line sale 7am

Dec 7 - PTO Meeting 8am (following car line sale)

Dec 11 - Pelican's Snoballs & Box Tops Collection during lunches

Dec 12 - Pelican's Snoballs & Box Tops Collection during lunches

Dec 13 - Merchandise Sale during lunches

Dec 14- Merchandise sale during lunches

Dec 21- Half Day dismissal at 12:40


Dec 24 - Jan 4 - Winter Break

Big picture

PTO FUNDRAISER

Big picture

Thank you for sharing your children with us each day! We are looking forward to another great year!