Texas Tech University

Lubbock, TX


Kent Hance became the third chancellor of the Texas Tech University System on December 1, 2006. As chancellor, Hance is the chief executive officer of the 12 campuses of Texas Tech University, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center and Angelo State University. He is focusing his energies on continuing the quality growth, enhancing the research in areas of excellence and accentuating the programs and opportunities that prepare students for success in life.


M. Duane Nellis was named as the 16th president of Texas Tech University on March 22, 2013. He will begin his term in June 2013. Nellis comes to Texas Tech from the University of Idaho, where he began serving as president in July 2009. There, he was instrumental in producing record student enrollments, gaining national recognition of the university research mission with dramatic funding increases, and extending university programs to benefit the people of the state educationally and economically.