The City of Fayetteville, NC!

Located in the center of Cumberland County


Cumberland is located in the Piedmont region of North Carolina and is surrounded by the counties of Harnett, Sampson, Bladen , Robeson, Hoke, and Moore. Cumberland county was founded in 1754 and is named for Prince William Agustus, duke of cumberland. Fayettville was founded 1762 and named for Glibert du Montier, marguis de Lafeyette.

Landmarks and Attractions

Fayetteville has a number if interesting landmarks and attractions including Fort Bragg military base, the Crown Coliseum, and the Cape Fear Botanical Gardens. Fayetteville is also the home of Emmanual Epicopal Church, the Great Allegheny Passage Trail, and George Washington's Headquarters.

Celebrating 250 Years of Excellence!

Nationally Recognized

Fayetteville has been selected to win the prestigious All-American City Award three times and we have the Best job market for recent college graduates, according to the Daily Beast. We also have the 3rd Most affordable housing market in the nation.

Important People

Want to get involved in Government?

Fayetteville is served by Mayor Anthony G. "Tony" Chavonne and nine council members. The Council meets two times each month, at 9PM on the first Monday and at 6:45 pm on the third monday of each month. Meeting are held in the County Courthouse located at 117 Dick Street. Cumberland county is served by County Manager James E. Martin and seven council members. Members of both councils are hired in four year staggered terms.